Help for a newbie

Crox

Jan 21, 2007
Okotoks, AB, Canada
:confused: I bought an Athearn DCC quick plug equipped GP35 (product 91763) and a Digitrax DH123P as advised by the shop. I removed the jumper board and plugged in the decoder to the nine pin connector as instructed in the Athearn instructions, on to programme track, programme address of loco (loco number) and nothing.....not a sausage.

I have the MRC Prodigy Express and all my other DCC equipped locos have worked fine - this is my first attempt at installing a decoder myself. The decoder also came with a DHWHP harness that appears redundant with the quick plug equipped loco?

I'm really new to all this DCC stuff so any help would be appreciated. I read another thread on here about a similar issue but didn't understand that.

Thanks all

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
Northern Rivers NSW Australia
The only thing I can think of, is to check that you have plugged it onto the loco the right way round. Ensure pin 1 is into socket 1 on the locomotive board. You may need a magnifying glass to check. The pin numbers should be printed in white little tiny numbers on the plug, and on the board.

That's about all I can think of at the mo, without knowing more.

UP SD40-2

Apr 29, 2006
Crox:wave:, i AM NOT familiar with the DH123P decoder:(, but i am familiar with the DH123:D. i know the Digitrax DH123 is TOO SMALL to fit the large 9pin socket that comes on the Athearn circuit boards:(. does the DH123P decoder fit in the socket properly? is it the same size as the socket in the circuit board? is the decoder upside down?(not installed properly). sorry to ask these questions:eek:ops:, just want to cover these bases first;).
did you try to run it first, before programing it?
on the test/program track, does the address come up as 0003? it should.
can you get a reading on the mainline? does the motor feel like its getting power?