Hello everyone! Beginning model RR...

tracker

Jun 20, 2007
Minneapolis
erikgoddard.com
I'm a builder of miniature architectural details, mostly structures and houses. There has always been a large crossover with the model RR world, and each year I've asked myself why not get back into it after 30 years and I've always put it off. But now I've got the bug and thought I'd post a few questions to get started.

I tend to dream large, and perhaps unrealistically (but isn't that the point?), so first off, I'm wondering if I should start out with a small layout or the rather larger one I have in mind. Everything I've read tends to indicate you should start small and work up. I don't mind starting off smaller than my illusions of grandeur, but certainly don't want just a 4 x 8 plywood layout (I'm probably going HO scale because detail-wise that's the one I'm most comfortable with and used as a kid). So, this leads to my next question:

I've got two basement choices for building. One is a finished room about 25 x 15. It's a perfect size, however my only reservation about this room is that it's a finished room and I don't want to tear into the walls, as it were. If I built in there I don't see how I could stop myself from employing two or three walls.

The other room is where the washer/dryer, furnace, shelves, etc all live. This is about the same size as the other room, but of course if full of obstructions. At first I said no way, then I began to think, a room like that could be a challenge. I would run a long track along the perimiter of the room at a decent height, with a helix or two dropping the track down to the three or so locations that would serve as towns/scenery/staging and track yards. I realize this would cost money and time, but it's got me hooked right now.