Hello, and can you help?

rabbott22

Dec 7, 2005
Kingsport, TN.
:wave: Hello everyone! :wave: I'm a new member and I'm also new in the world of model trains. So new that I do not even own anything yet. Let me start out by saying that I did a search tonight on model tairns and this was the first thing that came up and I'm very gald that it did. I really think that this will be the best place for a rookie like myself to get started. Next I also want to add that I have been blown away by some of the pictures I have seen so far. I DREAM of doing something like the things I have seen on here and hope to add my own pictures someday. I have always wanted to build a large scenic landscape with a couple of trains running through and now I have the room to do that. well I'm about to have the room once I get the old truck moved out of the garage. I have NO clue where to start and or what route to go. I stoped by a local small time hobby place this week to look at some trains and I found out that there are different scales (see i don't know much)... I will have about a 8'X16' space to work with my plan or what I have in my head is to have at least three - four different trains. One will be a transport type with all types of crago. another will be passenger and last will be a mix type with old cars that looks all run down. I want one whole end to be big mountain scene with at least two to three tunnels with the tracks running on a stair step if they will run up hill. Next I want to build a city in the middle that runs along a river that runs from a waterfall in the mountains to off the other end, I want the tracks to cross the river useing different types of bridges for each train. and last have a rail yard/ factory area to the city that the tairs use. I have NO idea how to lay this out. What to use and or how to get started. I have it in my head and thats it. Can you all help me? Should i go find books, videos, magazines? How do you start to lay this thing out? and of course wh