Hand Laid Track

Drew1125

Jan 28, 2001
On the new HOn3 layout I'm planning, I'm wanting to lay my own track. Does anybody have any experience with this? I've never tried it before.
I'll try ro explain.
I'm wanting to model a small mountain RR set in the 1920's, using about 40 lb. rail.
There's a little voice in my head saying "Go on & use flex track & pre-fab turnouts. It'll be so much easier & faster." The big problem I have with this is that the smallest narrow gauge flex track I can find is code 70. This is a little large for what i'm wanting to do. I promised myself when I began planning this project that I ewasn't going to compromise or take short-cuts. If I have to learn how to scratch build a climax locomotive, I'm gonna do it. If I have to lay my own track, well, that's what I'll do.
I'd really like to use extruded styrofoam for my track & scenery base. This would render rail spikes usless. I've heard that you can use Pliobond to cement the rails to the ties. Any body tried any of this, or have any suggestions at all?
Thanks in advance.

BobMcD

Dec 27, 2000
Boston MA, USA
Visit site
Charlie,

I have hand-laid track, but used spikes to do it. You can make beautiful and very authentic track hand-laying it, and it's not as difficult as many think.

Glue one rail for a little distance to define the track direction, let the glue dry, then use several track gauges to hold the second track in place until its glue is dry. An advantage of using glue is that HO spike heads are pretty large next to 40-lb rail, and the track should look better without them.

I've made turnouts (switches), too. It's a little more work than slapping a ready-made turnout into place, but far from impossible. I'd use a good ready-made turnout as a pattern, and read a book or article about turnout construction and electrical issues for turnouts.