Fred and Jon's new site-

nolatron

Nov 17, 2004
Katy, TX
railroad.sodh.net
too....much....clutter..... :)

I'm a web developer so I've been thinking about doing a train related site, not sure for what though exactly. I'm sitting on a dedicated server that I use about 2% of now and just looking for something new to play with. Figured since I'm working on my new layout, why not trains, heh. Nothing to compete with the-guage of course, but maybe compliment somehow, like a model-train only photo gallery. I know of railimages, but something more feature rich like railpictures, but models only since that's I what I like to look at more for ideas and for fun. Who knows, I'll think of something one day I'm sure.

Maybe that's what they thought too, heh.

jon-monon

Aug 15, 2002
Cobblers Knob, IN
www.2guyzandsumtrains.com
Robin, don't worry, there's no conspiracy LOL it's for fun. That's the motivation. Fun and helping others. But it's not a forum, it's a news and information site. More specifically, it's a CMS. Besides, why shouldn't we is a better question. Why does NARA exist? Why does it have a site? Also competition is healthy. Without it, an entity stagnates, gets sick, and dies. It's the very foundation of most of our societies. Those without competition are mostly sick and dieing.

Shaun, being a simple cave man, that was my exact reaction the first time I viewed a CMS. But as I began to use CMS's, as a necessity of what I do for food, I found the format is excellent for navigation, fast viewing of what's new, and allows members to take ownership and contribute to their site. As all the custom icons are created and put into place, navigation will improve. It's powerful technology, and therefore, confusing at first to many. Look at other CMS's and you will see it's a pretty standard setup, well tollerated by the masses. It is not standard format for model rail sites because our site, Fred and mine, and our members, is leading edge.

Ralph, THANKS :D :D :D

Matthyro