First Amature Layout

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by J. Steffen, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. bigsteel

    bigsteel Call me Mr.Tinkertrain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    lookin good so far,it looks like you weathered the track,correct?but looks damn good to me,keep postin ppics i love seeing people work on layouts and different approaches to things.--josh
  2. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah... just threw some paint on it. I cleaned up the rails after but I still have some sticky parts that I have to clean off. I just fininshed wiring the reverse loops and they work great. I have a couple of gaps I need to address but they're no problem.
  3. TruckLover

    TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    WOW, that track looks great how you did it, I like the color, what did you use.

    I want to do that when I start my next layout, the full room double decker lol
  4. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Used Floquil "Rail Brown", whick looks more Olive Drab than anything else. It actually sort of grows on you though.

    Full room... That sounds soooo tempting. I have already figured on expanding down the back straight of the layout. I wanted to bring it up and over into some mountains but I think I will bring it up and out onto another bench (that's another day).

    I wish I had more room but I still have a fridge and a futon (sp) to get rid of, plus the two motorcycles take up alot of space.

    Thanks for the praise!
  5. TruckLover

    TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    sign1 I always like to expand were I can, this expantion is just a lil bigger, ok ALOT BIGGER sign1 sign1

    How did you apply the floquil paint? With a paint brush or an airbrush? It kinda looks like you sprayed it on using an airbrush or staright outa a spray can
  6. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lightly sprayed from the small can. I should have used something to protect the base but I figured I was going to cut drainage into it any way. The paint almost did the work for me.

    I have seen your progress. it looks good.
  7. TruckLover

    TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I didn't know they had floquil in cans, I will have to look for it next time I go to the LHS, probly should get a few cans cause I am going to be doing 2 levels of HO track and a N steel mill using them lol

    I think that is turned out great and should look even better ballasted!!

    Thanks for the compliment to, I TRY sign1 This is my 2nd layout that I have done, this next double decker full room, I am going to spend a ton of time on each section making sure that everything is good and up to my standards, which are pretty high lol. I am very exited to start this next one!! Thanks again
  8. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think mine will too after ballasting and adding hills/mountains.

    Unfortunatly I suffer from the same infliction that most of us do....

    Lack of spare time...
  9. MilesWestern

    MilesWestern Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking Good Jeff! I'm at about that stage too, only the Wood IS my base...I'll use the foam for larger landforms. Looking like alot of fun, espically with that Fantastic P2k HO SD45! (I think..) I can't wait to see more, and once again(!) MANY thanks for heading out to Perris for the photographs, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! :)
  10. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very close hehehe.... It an Athearn. I picked up two un-numbered Southern pacific a few weeks back. Great price and the detail on them are excellent. I have the decoder in one of them and it purrs around the track. I'm using it right now in order to find the troble spots on the track, i.e. paint on the rails and gaps...

    No problem about the perris thing. It gave me and my little girl an outing at the rail museum.

    :)
  11. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking to do something like this... maybe extend the length and height of the mountain/hill range.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  12. Spawn of Chaos

    Spawn of Chaos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that's actually kind of interesting how the black actually looks 3D where the "tunnels" are...Weird.

    Anyways, nice! I can't wait until I get my layout started!

    My problem isn't lack of spare time, it's lack of money...
  13. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't notice that at first but you're right. I didn't have a lack of money up until I bought my new bike. Now I have very little time (wife), and very little money...lol.
  14. jambo101

    jambo101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice layout.Only problem might be acess to any problems over by the wall as its a 4ft reach..
  15. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Optical illusion. If you look closer, you'll see that it's a little over a foot from the wall.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  16. jambo101

    jambo101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I knew you had that problem covered some how..
    Those black tunnel sections really stand out,is that photo shopped??
  17. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just use MS Paint's polygon feature and then filled it in.

    I have the three tunnel sections planned and haven't decided wether to run the back straight behind the mountain or run it into a tunnel. I do know that the mountains will have to be mostly hollow to fix derails.

    I think I will run a spur (switch already laid) at an incline up the back straight and up, above, and over the duel tunnel in order to expand outwards. I'm sure that 15 ft should be enough to bring it up without any problems. Alas, that is for the future. I have to finish what I've started first.

    [​IMG]
  18. TruckLover

    TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like that idea of more mountains :thumb: :thumb:
  19. J. Steffen

    J. Steffen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm thinking about going about a foot and a half and stretching it a bit further than in the pictures. Maybe a bluff... I'm not sure yet.
  20. Spawn of Chaos

    Spawn of Chaos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it really looks 3D...show these people the power of MSPaint! Photoshop what? Photoshop what?

    sign1