Fall scenery

csxengineer

May 16, 2003
Pittsburgh, Pa
Visit site
Is there any threads regarding making fall scenery? I just got tired of the all green monotony, and started transitioning it to the fall colors. It's kinda tough, I could use advice. I am using woodland scenics fall foilage. Thanks

MadCoW1

Jul 9, 2006
LaCrosse Wisconsin
csxengineer said:
Is there any threads regarding making fall scenery? I just got tired of the all green monotony, and started transitioning it to the fall colors. It's kinda tough, I could use advice. I am using woodland scenics fall foilage. Thanks

Hello csxengineer, I don't spend enough time here to have read any threads on fall colors. It is tough to get it down. I'm no expert by ANY means, but, I find that using the combination of real weeds(sprigs) and the woodland scenics fall foliage colors to be quite satisfactory. I also am experimenting with making my own birch trees which play nice into fall scenes.

This photo shows my bridge diorama using said weeds. Here in Wisconsin, I go down by the tracks and look for things that resemble 'little trees'. This is the perfect time of year for it here. I was out harvesting more today. After picking, I soak them in a 50/50 glue and water mixture and hang them from clothespins to let them dry for about 3 days. This helps them withstand the occasional bumps they seem to get. Then I use cheap spraypaint to paint them gray(primer), a mist of black, and a light overcoat of brown. While this is still wet, I dip them back into the glue mixture and sprinkle varying colors of ground foam. And Wha-Lah!! Trees!! Hope this helps. If not, feel free to ask away. These photos are meant to represent late fall, like around the first freeze.

CNW_GP35_F.jpg

CNW_Bridgeshot_1.jpg

Johnny

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site