EZ Command question

Discussion in 'DCC & Electronics' started by Southsounder, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. Southsounder

    Southsounder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought this to get into DCC since it fit my small budget. My question is I have programed two locos but it won't take anymore, I keep going through the steps but it just not taking them from the #3 button. Any suggestions? thanks
  2. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    # 3 is the default setting for most decoders. One of the loco's you programmed might be using it.
    P.S. Welcome to the Gauge.

    Loren
  3. Southsounder

    Southsounder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loren, Nice quote, I have taught that myself.....I thought that may be the problem, but all the other loco's I've tried to program are still able to run on #three
  4. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    I started out with Ez command and remember reading that, so I threw it in.
    What are you trying to do, program 3 loco's for 1-2-3 buttons?

    Loren
  5. Southsounder

    Southsounder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am just trying to get my six DCC loco's programed it stopped taking them after 1 and 2, but I still use #3 the run the others on, it just won't let change the ones I have programmed or add any others, I may try to call the help line this week
  6. Chesticus

    Chesticus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    It will not let you assign numbers to loco's 4-9?

    Chesticus
  7. Southsounder

    Southsounder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct, or even change the ones I have already programmed in...
  8. lester perry

    lester perry Guest

    have you called Bachmann? what did they tell you? I called them a couple of days ago about a friends Loco that would not respond to any thing I tried. Thier Tech support was worthless. The man told me to program it for #1-9 because Bachmans sytem only went with those numbers. I tried to explain to him that I wasn't useing Bachmanns system and he said that was the problem. after a little more dicussion he said Bachman is new at this DCC stuff and he dosen"t know much about it. this was thier tech support guy! I finnaly figured out that it was a soundtraxx tsunami decoder and fixed it for him.
    Les
  9. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Southsounder, did you get your loco's programed? If not, are you using a programming track with the resistor in line?
    If you are, take all other locos off the track and program on the main, or take out the resistor.
    When I was using EZ Command, I had one engine that could only be programed on the main.

    Loren
  10. Southsounder

    Southsounder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Loren I'll try that, I have been out of the State the past week and thanks everybody else for the tips, ss
  11. lester perry

    lester perry Guest

    I was thinking, maybe if you know someone who has DCC they could program the locos for you then just take them home and run them.
    Les
  12. Southsounder

    Southsounder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Called customer service at Bachman, not very helpful.....called my local hobby shop and I am going to meet with him and try to program that way, and then send Bachman back the defected item....they said that would be 8 weeks at least until they could return it.
  13. lester perry

    lester perry Guest

    From the replies you have received here this might be an ongoing problem for the EZ command system. If you are going to get a better system later and If your LHS or a friend will program for you it might be a good Idea to just live with it.At least 8 weeks is a long time to be with out your railroad. Just a thought.
    Les
  14. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    South...You might check the B'mann forum. I've read that most "repairs" at B'mann involve changing the defective unit for a new one....I believe most folks were referring to engine problems, but the same might apply to their DCC systems. 8 weeks sounds like a long time for a B'mann product. Check it out...
  15. Southsounder

    Southsounder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    After a couple of beers and stairing at it for a long time I decided to do some different combinations of the instructions and lo and behold, it worked! thanks for all the suggestions over the past couple of weeks...
  16. lester perry

    lester perry Guest

    Great news but I have a question. do you remember what you did
    Les
  17. nachoman

    nachoman Guest

    Ha! Aint that how all those pesky problems get solved? aussie

    Kevin
  18. nachoman

    nachoman Guest

    a PS here -

    How many speed steps does the Bachmann EZ command use?

    Kevin
  19. Southsounder

    Southsounder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The instructions and the second guy I talked with at Bachman (who was very nice and helpful, unlike the first person I spoke with) stated to press the the programing buttons at the same time. What I ended up doing was pressing the "3 button" then the "program" which gets it blinking then the number I wanted the loco to be programmed on. The button blinks faster and then the "program button" again after the loco moves back a forth a little. Done...The "Program button" may be marked with a different name, I am not looking at my system as I type this.....thanks again and good luck with your layouts
  20. jeffrey-wimberl

    jeffrey-wimberl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    28/128