Engine Buzz/Hum with DCC

NH 2525

Jan 12, 2006
Hi. I'm relatively new to DCC. I had purchased a number of Atlas decoder equipped locomotives, including the Trainmaster, B 23-7's, SD 35's, and a U25B. These ran very quietly on regular DC power, but now that I've switched over to DCC, there is a loud buzz or hum from the motors when starting the loco, or when moving at really slow speeds. I have a LENZ SET 100, with the recommended DIgitrax power supply. Is there anything I can do to get rid of that noise. All of the factory DCC equipped locomotives do this,despite the fact that they were relatively silent and smooth operators on straight DC.

I have switched between the various speed steps and this has not helped.

Edit: I should add that these are N scale locomotives.

Thanks

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Hi NH,

Welcome to The Gauge.

I don't have a complete answer for you, but generally "yes". There are CV's that can help you fine tune the frequencies that cause the buzzing. I do not have my (Digitrax) manual in front of me, so I can't tell you which ones (besides, that info may only apply to the Digitrax decoder I have). Other CVs like starting voltage and so on may play a factor.

What does the Atlas manual say about this? Is it in their "troubleshooting" section?

Andrew

NH 2525

Jan 12, 2006
I'll have to download those manuals from the Atlas site. Unfortunately, there is no manual provided with decoder equipped locomotives. I installed two Digitrax DN 163A0 decoders in SD35's. These run nice and quiet.

Thanks for the Atlas manual suggestion. I have not attempeted to program any CV's yet. I am still confused about that. I just need take some time and read up on that process.

Thanks again.

NH 2525

Jan 12, 2006