EMD Switcher ID

jon-monon

Aug 15, 2002
Cobblers Knob, IN
www.2guyzandsumtrains.com
Anyone know who made this model? I don't see any markings on it indicating who made it. Or which EMD it is (i.e. SW-????)? It has the EMD logo on one of the truck side frames. Runs great, but I could use a few parts as you might tell :)

jon

Attachments

• emdapart.jpg
    emdapart.jpg
    48.8 KB · Views: 284

jon-monon

Aug 15, 2002
Cobblers Knob, IN
Maybe a 1500? She's got the opening behind the third door and the double flush headlamp with lighted number boards on each side:

emd1500.jpg

But I'm no expert on these rascals and I wonder if other ones have these features.

Hey Mr. Tingoat! How do ya like my new camera (last post)??? :D :D :D

jon

rockislandmike

Nov 6, 2001
Edmonton AB
dayfornight.qazam.com
If I'm not mistaken, a number of units looked very similar, with the two smokestacks. So SW1500 is definitely a possibility, but so are SW1200, NW2, and MP15 (all of which had two smokestacks).

As for being true to the prototype, I wouldn't bet on that, particularly for models built prior to 1995 or so.

jon-monon

Aug 15, 2002
Cobblers Knob, IN
Thanks for the input, folks! I've mulled over quite a few photo's and it seems to me that the openings on the side are unique to the SW-1500. It sure runs smoothly after clean-up of the drivers with a little goo gone.

Now the hard question is, who might have manufactured this model? That's why I show the guts in the pic, just hoping someone recognises that model. Got it on e-bay:

e-bay ad

But the ad has no real description.

jon

IMRL393

Aug 7, 2001
Visit site
A search of various maker sites and Walthers shows that the only current SW 1500 maker seems to be Athearn, who does make an SW1500 in NS black & white (part # 3904). Atlas does not seem to have made one for at least the last 2-3 years, Kato and Stewart never have made this loco, and Walthers lists only the Athearn.