electro/insulfrog

Cactus

Aug 27, 2001
Maryland
Visit site
Hi.
I'm new to the hobby. Beginning an n-scale layout based on the WM/B&O combination. I teach at Western Maryland College, the only college in the country named after a railroad. (Guess which one!) We have a WM caboose on our campus. I also had family associated with the B&O, and as a child I rode in the cab (and worked the controls) of B&O steam and diesel locomotives. One might wonder why I haven't been in the hobby my whole life, who knows?

Anyway, my question has to do with the Peco insulfrog and electrofrog turnouts. I have a sample of each, and I understand their wiring and general behavior. My question is: under what circumstances would a person choose the electrofrog version over the insulfrog one? All the layout situations I can think of would seem to favor the insulfrog version.

Be prepared, I'll have lots more questions... and thanks.

Gary Pfeil

May 7, 2001
Boonton NJ
Visit site