ebay a good choice?

Edgar

Oct 8, 2005
folks, I'm new in the hobby, which I began mostly for my son and now I'm completely hooked up! I'm planning to buy my son an Amtrak train set for Christmas. The deals I see at ebay are mind-boggling! But how safe is to buy from an ebay seller? Has anybody had any positive or negative experiences with these joints? I'm listening...:confused:

Pete

Jun 2, 2001
New Brunswick, Canada
www.hioutput.com
The best way to tell, is by looking at the sellers' feedback rating and comments posted therein. Even the best people can have a bad day, though. Often you have to read between the lines.

Don't jump on the first one you see - check around and what else there is as pricing can vary widely. Read all of their terms, and ask questions if unsure about anything.

Most will have the shipping costs posted, or have a calculator so you can find out on your own; these shipping/handling costs need to be taken into consideration as part of the overall price.

Some are known to sell their items cheap, only to have exhorbitant shipping charges added to make up the difference. :rolleyes:

As always, do your research, and caveat emptor (buyer beware).
And good luck :thumb:

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Edgar...

Good advice from Pete. Seems that eBay is not the deal it once was, and many things can be had for new at the same, or even lower prices. I deal with one mail order model shop in Canada who ships (almost) everything for a flat rate of $7.

Here are a few additional discussions we have had here:

Why eBay is Worth It

EBay Glory Days Gone?

Hope that helps.

Andrew

CSX

Sep 20, 2005
Virginia
www.freewebs.com
I normally only buy from eBay Power Sellers. They are the most trusted sellers on eBay. One seller I find very friendly and very cheap is TheFavoriteSpot. Check out his stuff!

507wayne

Nov 21, 2006
Faribault, Mn, USA.