Early Streamliners

Streamliner

I am looking for HO models of early Diesel Streamliners. I'm new to the hobby and not sure where to search or what is available. I've been to a couple of good sized "train shows" so I know that the stuff I'm looking for isn't common. I know that an HO scale model of the ICRR "Green Daimond" was offered about ten years ago so I would appreciate help you guys can throw my way. I would think that someone must have produced a model of the early UP streamliners as well.

Thanks ..... Streamliner

LarryGarrett

Perhaps I'm not answering exactly what you are asking for, BUT, if you are talking about the Streamliners that were run in the late 30's through the 40's by many of the major roads----you should be able to find them. I''ve seen many of the locos that pulled the well-known passenger trains. Check the websites for IHC, Bachman, Con-Cor, and there are several others. From what I've seen in the magazine ads and on the internet, these locomotives are abundant, and made by various manufactures. They have both the 4-6-2's, which were called semi-streamlined and the 4-6-4's (I think that's what they were) that were fully streamlined, and all were painted in new flashy colors as the railroads updated their equipment.

However, if what you are talking about is "classic," one-of-a-kind items, then I really can't help you....Good luck!

Pooh Bah
Streamliner:
One problem is that the early streamliners were almost all custom jobs. The Zephyr and the UP streamliners were limited prototypes (there was a Zephyr-type called the Flying Yankee on the Boston & Maine), so that there isn't much call for models. The same goes for the passenger locomotives earlier than the E7. Many of them have been made as limited run brass models, but I don't think they have been in plastic.
The coaches would have the same problem. They might be special runs or regular coaches "tarted up" for the job -- either way, they would be uneconomic to mass produce.

MasonJar