Durango & Silverton Ride

SeriousSam

Nov 2, 2005
San Antonio
Whats going on? I thought I would post a couple pictures from my trip to Durango, Colorado, where I got to ride the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Rail Road. The trip lasted about two hours, because it being winter time and the train is not able to make the full trip because of the snow. Nevertheless, the trip was very fun and I learned a lot. This used to be part of the Denver & Rio Grande Railroad. Now, as you can see from one of the pictures (which really does it no justice), I have pretty big lips. Cold, dry moutain air plus a steady pace forward do not mix well with lips. My lips were chapped for about a month after the ride. The sunglasses are required because of the smoke and any small particles that might get in your eyes. One of the security guys said that they had people sent to the hospital because of smoke and coal particles going in their eyes. I appologize for the "stretched" pictures. I am not very good at this uploading stuff. If anyone has any pictures of this, or any other train ride, please post.

Attachments

• 181Front.JPG
    181Front.JPG
    59.1 KB · Views: 71
  • Inside.JPG
    Inside.JPG
    36.5 KB · Views: 70
  • canyon.JPG
    canyon.JPG
    67.3 KB · Views: 71
  • River.JPG
    River.JPG
    59.5 KB · Views: 71
  • LookDown.JPG
    LookDown.JPG
    68 KB · Views: 71

SeriousSam

Nov 2, 2005
San Antonio
heres another 2. the first one is on the same canyon as the first, but on our way back to the station. the second is after the train had backed up on the "Y" to turn around. Its a Narrow Gauge 2-8-2

Attachments

• Canyon2.JPG
    Canyon2.JPG
    52 KB · Views: 52
  • On181.JPG
    On181.JPG
    68.2 KB · Views: 52

Go Big1

Dec 29, 2006
NW Suburbs of Chicago
Great stuff! I certainly do remember how sooty you are after riding the D&S narrow gauge in one of the open air cars! sign1

I have pictures of my ride somewhere in the house - it was a couple years ago.

SeriousSam