Double Crossover?

Discussion in 'The Real Thing- North America' started by nolatron, Jul 31, 2006.

  1. nolatron

    nolatron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was just curios about this. Do any class I railroads, mainly UP, BNSF, or NS use a double crossover anywhere on their system today?
  2. LoudMusic

    LoudMusic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not familiar with a 'double crossover'. Could someone draw a diagram?
  3. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think Val (Spitfire) had a picture of one in the trackage at Toronto's Union Station. Try the Real Thing - Canada forum...

    LoudMusic - a double crossover would be like an "X" between two parallel tracks, allowing trains to cross from one to the other, in either direction


    Andrew
  4. LoudMusic

    LoudMusic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, a crossover and then another crossover ... heh. Makes sense ;)
  5. nolatron

    nolatron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a pic of one:

    [​IMG]
  6. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    There you go... 1 picture = 1000 words ;)

    Andrew
  7. LoudMusic

    LoudMusic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah! See, I was thinking more like this. UP has a double crossover (or several, rather) near me. Kind of impressive looking in person.
  8. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those are diamonds, or maybe crossings. Crossovers allow you to move from one track to another (usually parallel) track.

    Andrew
  9. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but mostly no. They are only used where space is at a premium, namely in passenger terminals. They include an unnesssary and high maintenence diamond (crossing) in them that railroads try to avoid at all cost.
  10. pooka2hot4u

    pooka2hot4u Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    the NYC subway system uses alot of those especially in the underground tunnels, where space is limited. to switch trains from local to express tracks
  11. MilesWestern

    MilesWestern Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the UP main I believe has one Crossing the BNSF(?) in Stockton, Ca.
  12. straight-track

    straight-track Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here you go guys, another sample of a double crossover !

    Attached Files:

  13. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're confusing this with a simple at-grade crossing. What we're talking about here is a way for trains to cross over between two parallel tracks on the same railroads.
  14. straight-track

    straight-track Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brian, How about this ? Better ? :rolleyes:

    Attached Files:

  15. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    And it was needed twice for . . . ?
  16. straight-track

    straight-track Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I simply cropped out the grade crossing which seemed to be construed as the double-crossover - - not !!
  17. nolatron

    nolatron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I thought. On my next layout plan (n-scale) I have double track mainline and the spot where I wanna put crossovers, well, like the real thing, space is at a premium. I could fit a single crossver in, but in order to let both lines access each other I dropped in a scale double crossover in it's place.

    That's what got me to thinking if any of the major rail lines actually use one of them.

    It's like in that thread I saw recently, where UP didn't wanna do a 90 degree crossing with a local railroad because of the maint. cost, instead they build temp rails weekly right over the UP mainline for the local's weekly setout.
  18. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that a more common solution for the railroads to use is the overlapping crossovers where the trains can cross from one track to another, and either track can be used as a passing track. In Cajon I was doing some railfanning once and saw Santa Fe (before BNSF merger) stop one train on the right side track coming down, another train going up was parked on the right side track going up (opposite tracks from each other. The trains were about 25 yards apart with a crossover between them. Soon another Santa Fe came down grade on the same track as the train parked facing up grade, crossed over between the two trains and continued on. Once that train cleared, the switches were realigned and the two parked trains continued on their way.
  19. straight-track

    straight-track Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Russ, That is somethin' ! I've done the same on my layout in the picture posted ! Amazing how similar modeling and prototype can be . Joe :thumb:
  20. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brian,Actually they are also used in yard throats as well and where ever one may be needed..The railroads have no qualms in using one IF needed..
    The railroads will also use 2 crossovers.One left had crossover and one right hand crossover in instead of the double crossover.