Do you run "local" railroads?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Zug, Sep 23, 2003.

  1. Zug

    Zug Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you run local railroads on your layout or locos from a different area?

    I started out with Santa Fe when I got back into trains 1.5 years ago, I then got a couple CP's a couple months ago, while they great looking (SD90 & SD40-2) and run well, I can see real CP at the local CP yards, SF on the other hand I have never seen in person.
  2. Greg Elems

    Greg Elems Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I model a fallen flag railroad. The Western Pacific hasn't been seen here for 20 years or better. I also use a freelanced railroad for the power that WP didn't own and that I like. :D

    Greg
  3. IAIS 604

    IAIS 604 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    I model a Rock Island regional road in 1996, but my fictional RI has the same "business" as the real IMRL and Iowa Interstate roads had in that year.
  4. RailRon

    RailRon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm building a fictitious narrow gauge line in the Colorado Rockies, with a connection to a standard gauge line. Of course the prototypes RGS and D&RGW are showing through!

    There is some mining (Fantasium ore :D) involved, and so I am borrowing also some ideas and rolling stock items from the EBT (e.g. some metal hopper cars).

    Ron
  5. UP_STEVE

    UP_STEVE Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    untill there are N scale queensland rail locos available... no i dont model what i see locally.
  6. Casey Feedwater

    Casey Feedwater Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    For a long time (years!), I tried modeling prototype roads - some of which I had never laid eyes on outside of a magazine - and in parts of the country I had never seen. It just didn't work, at least not for me.

    When my current layout is finished, I will have two railroads, the Central Missouri & Southern and it's subsidiary, the Osage Valley Tie & Lumber. The CM&S is/will be based on a combination of M-K-T and Mo. Pacific practices. The OVT&L is/will be based on typical Ozarks logging and tie rafting practices. So I guess I could say mine is "local."
  7. Ray Marinaccio

    Ray Marinaccio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    I model mostly fallen flag railroads. Don't need to keep up with the latest motivepower and changing paint scemes.
    There isn't a railroad for miles in this area anymore . All the tracks are ripped up.
  8. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run my own fantasy railroad (MAT)with interchanges to Catts GVR and a few other friends. Also interchange with the real CN and CP
  9. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    The closest answer for me is "No...", but I do run names that would have been seen "around here" - CN in south/east Ontario, in the 1920s and 30s. However, I do not go as far as to check if the locomotives I have actually carry numbers form the engines that worked here. They could have been assigned to work in Winnipeg...?!

    Andrew
  10. TomPM

    TomPM Another Fried Egg Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,411
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run locos from local railroads on my layout. They just happen to be from a different era.

    I grew up next the B&O, then Chessie, now CSX Philadelphia Subdivision in Delaware County, PA during the sixties and seventies. Back then the B&O owned a big part of the Reading and CNJ, and of course the C&O owed a part of the B&O and Western Maryland. As a result I would see locomotives from the B&O, C&O, Western Maryland, Reading, and CNJ. Since my model railroad connects with the Philadelphia Subdivision I run all of them or will once I get a CNJ locomotive. I also run Lehigh & New England power. I never saw any LNE power but they ran in the Lehigh Valley and northern New Jersey. When I run trains from the seventies and eighties I run Chessie locomotives. Since the PRR now Amtrak NEC was a five minute walk from my house I also run PRR. Penn Central, Amtrak, and SEPTA. At some point I hope to acquire some Conrail power.
  11. spitfire

    spitfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,536
    Likes Received:
    0
    My layout is based around a very specific local industry, the now-demolished Massey Ferguson plant, so I have almost entirely CN motive power. Like Andrew I don't concern myself with road numbers - if it's CN it's close enough. Rolling stock in these parts (at least nowadays) is from all over, so I have wide leeway there.

    However, when I extend the layout into the surrounding "countryside" I plan to run a NYC Hudson passenger train - I think they passed through some part of Canada at some point in time - so that's justification enough for me.

    Also, if I could ever think of a road name that I like for more than a day, I plan to create a fictional RR as well.

    cheers
    Val
  12. jmarksbery

    jmarksbery Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    my fictional rr the WC & T interchanges with the L & N :)
  13. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the C&O,C&O /Chessie and of course my own C&HV.
    Lately I been leaning toward the C&HV as my main interest road and slacking on buying C&O units.
  14. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    I model British trains in Canada, so that's at least a 6-hour flight away. And at least a 55 year time jump to the era I model.
    But I still have a few models of CP, CN and TTC stock that don't run very often!
    And I model some fictitious stations in Britain.
  15. TerryR

    TerryR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm modelling a French railroad in New Jersey!

    Strangely enough, I may be moving there soon...
  16. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seeing as how I am so new to railroading, I decided if I invernt my own road, I will make fewer mistakes. I run the Canyon States RR, and borrow equipment from many other roads until we become financially solvent. :cool: I saw on another forum where people were taken to task for having the wrong shade of a color for "that road, and that model engine", or for using the wrong equipment. :rolleyes: I couldn't allow myself to bear that burden, so now no one but me judges whether my paint scheme or the equipment used is correct.:D :D :D :D

    Don
  17. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    I model Santa Fe on the modular club, which is local. My switching layout in the spare bedroom will be Los Angeles Junction. also local, and definately a "local" railroad since the entire railroad is located in an area 5 miles wide by 5 miles long.
    How ever, my next railroad project will be the Arkansas & Misouri, including some modules with scenery modeled after the ptototype, if I can locate enough pictures or get the opportunity to visit the area and take my own pictures. I like th local railroads, but I like the idea of a contemporary railroad running a 100% Alco fleet.
  18. grlakeslogger

    grlakeslogger Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran into a couple of those nitpickers once on a layout tour. I asked them about their layouts and mentioned that I'd really enjoy seeing one such as they must have. They got sort of quiet and then admitted that neither had a layout. I freelance, although I do rely on Soo Line plans and practices quite a bit. I have also done some contest modeling. I simply enjoy seeing other folks layouts because I can appreciate what an effort goes into one that runs well and looks decent. 100% true-to-prototype has never been a big deal for me. And most of those critics, well, their hobby seems to be criticizing the work of others rather than doing any themselves! --Stu--
  19. Bob Collins

    Bob Collins Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    0
    I started out in my planning with a specific railroad and era to model and abandoned the idea about 20 minutes into the beginning of construction of my layout. I grew up in a community where you just took your choice of railroads: UPRR, CNW, CGW, Milwaukee, Rock Island, Wabash, IC and CB&Q. I have mostly UPRR motive power, both steam and desiel and basically run whatever I want without much concern about era. I'm sure that makes the purists faint away, but I got back into it to have fun and I'm having a ball:D :D

    Bob

    Hi UP_STEVE; Certainly enjoyed my visit to your fair city a couple of months ago to attend the Rotary International Convention. The folks in Brisbane, and all of Australia were great hosts.
  20. zeeglen

    zeeglen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live in Texas; what a thrill just after moving here from Canada to walk into the local hobby shop for the first time and finding those CN and CP N scale boxcars and locomotives (and what a hit the poor old cr card took that week!). Even ones with 'Winnipeg' and 'Manitoba' on them (my old stompin' grounds). Also model SP (local proto RR) in N and Z, and GN in Z scale; but have been known to mix a few odd roadnames into the consists from time to time. I'm not a proto perfectionist; I just like to see trains run for the pure pleasure of seeing trains run.