Disapointed in Atlas True Track 9 inch straight terninal

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by Gil Finn, May 6, 2007.

  1. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ordered a number of track items to inclued two 9 inch straight track terminals.

    The first one had the scews in so type I was lucky to lossen them without wrecking the hole piece.

    The second didn't make contack with a rail and required some work and time on it.

    Once getting them tacked down they had to be reset a few times again with differnt pressure and tightnesto let the terminal strip make contact with a rail, the scews units with a brass strip simply touch rail from below and are not soldered or cripmed in place. Securing the section to the track to tight or two loose they may fail to make contact with the rail above the brass strips

    I also have a switched with dead spots over the frog but that is common with some switches.
  2. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gil have you thought about soldering wires streight to the rails?
  3. jeffrey-wimberl

    jeffrey-wimberl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to solder those brass strips to the rails. Eventually I got so fed up with problems with Atlas track that I stopped using it altogether. That money was better spent on track that I didn't have to tinker with right out of the box.
  4. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes and I have done that , also used rail joiners with wires soldered on but I wanted to use theses and have it look good. They are working now but I was surprised that they were so crappy coming from Atlas.I hear you Jeff
  5. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never ceased to be amazed that the same company that offers such fine running locomotives make such universally awful track! If you use track made by Atlas, expect to spend as much time tinkering with the track as you do running trains, except for switches. In the case of Atlas switches expect to spend at least twice as much time tinkering with the track as you do running the trains.