Derailments and couplers

Roger Phillips

Aug 6, 2001
Visit site
I'm a newbie to model railroading and chose n scale because space is limited.
The rear coupler on my atlas engine derails the car it is pulling when it goes around a 9 inch radius atlas turn by pushing the coupler on the car to the outside of the curve. This causes the outside wheel to ride up and out of the track. The cars will not do this to each other but my engine will always do it to the first car it is pulling. What can be done? (asides from using 11 inch radius turns) :confused: Your help would be greatly appreciated.

C

Catt

Rodger what couplers are you using? Have you converted to Micro-Trains?

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi Rodger and welcome to the gauge,

Arnold Rapido Knuckle couplers are really too big for N-scale and as Catt suggests, maybe a change to Micro trains is the name of the game. However, the main cause (I think) why you get derailments is the fact that the loco has the coupler body mounted and the cars are bogie mounted causing your problem, what happens - is the loco going around the bend - swings the rear coupler out over the track, - the car behind tries to keep in line but cannot, so de-rails.

cheers
Shamus
waver.gif

NARA Member #24
http://www.badger-creek.co.uk

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
Northern Rivers NSW Australia
body mounted couplers

Roger,

Shamus is right with the "body" mounted V/S "bogie" mounted couplers. They can cause problems like you are experienceing on tight curves.

I have the same problem with HO. (My curves are too tight). I would not play around with the standard couplers on you loco's or rollingstock, otherwise you end up with locos that only run with specific rollingstock. Look at your curves and see if you can lessen them in anyway.