derailing

photoman

Jan 7, 2007
Hi, my name is Dino Petrocelli, IM from albany ny, IM a professional photographer, if anyone wishes you can view my web site at www.dinopetrocelli.com.

IM slow in the winter and figured I would turn my old studio into a train depot. I went a bit crazy and finally got a track laied, I have 6 switches, the track runs on 3 4x8' talbles I made. I never knew how crazy this can all be, my 5 year old is having a blast and it making me do more. The guy at the train shop loves me I spent 500.00 in 3 days.

Here is my question, I bought a Sante Fe, engine, and a couple cars. I don't know why but the box car wont carry through the switch, the wheels have a mind of their own. Every other car is fine, are there adjustments on these cars. Its not the switch, all other cars make it. what is the rule on switches and these cars.

Thank you.

Hope to be on here a lot.

hiscopilot

Dec 27, 2006
Spring Hill, TN
I cant begin to answer your question there. But welcome and I will watch for the answer because I have a "troublesome truck" who is doing the same troublesome thing. The only thing I could figure out is maybe something in the couplers is pulling it a little...
Good question!

doctorwayne

Sep 6, 2005
Canada, eh?
Hi Dino, and welcome to the Gauge.:wave: There are several things that can cause a car to derail. One is out-of-gauge wheels. It's a good idea to check the wheels of all cars before placing them in service, and for that, you need an NMRA wheel and track standards gauge. Your new friend at the hobby shop can sell you one: I'd guess $5.00 or so. It has instructions for its use. Another cause of derailments is trucks that are too loose or, usually, too tight. If the trucks are attached with screws, loosen or tighten as required: both should pivot easily, but one truck should be left a bit looser, so that it can rock a bit as the car goes over slight irregularities in the track.