Decoders in cheap locos - worthwhile?

basementdweller

I am just getting started in DCC, my Prodigy should be here soon, while I will be adding decoders to the Athearn, Hornby, and LL2K locos, my son has several Model Power locos, is it worthwhile adding decoders to these cheaper locos or just run them in DC mode?
He does enjoy them and the're don't run bad at all (8 wheel pick up), if anything they run too fast.
I appreciate your thoughts.
Thanks martin.

jwmurrayjr

Martin,

My limited experience is that most locos run better on DCC. You can set the CVs to "tune" the way the loco runs. Even the top speed (Very handy when you have kids operating.) Most (All?) of my locos (steam) are relative inexpensive.

If you can spring for the decoders then you'll be able to run them all with out using the "00" address DC feature.

:)

Gary Pfeil