Decoder & Sound for HO 2-8-0

Hey everyone!

Once again, I bow down to you knowledgeable guys for help!

I recently recieved a brand-spankin'-new HO Bachmann Spectrum 2-8-0 Consolidation. I really want to add a decoder and hopefully a relatively reasonably priced sound system.

The DCC system I have is that Atlas Master. It was the combo pack (the controller and generator) and I haven't even set it up yet. I think the controller only allows for two extra functions, but I'm not sure! I'm completely new to this stuff! Maybe someone who has the AM DCC could advise?

So, what are some relatively cheap decoders/sound systems for an HO Locomotive for a teenager on a budget? What about installation? I believe the Spectrum is DCC ready...

Thanks for all your help!:D

Devon

jwmurrayjr

Devon,

I use the Atlas DCC system and like it a lot. But I don't have sound. Atlas has a problem programming BLI sound decoders but Tony's sells a programming track "booster" (PowerPax) that will solve that problem.

I don't know if there is a problem with the Soundtraxx drop-in decoder for the 2-8-0. I hope not. Anyway Tony's will know. Just email or call them.

Let us know how it goes.

Thanks Jim!

I looked at the Soundtraxx Drop-in decoder for the 2-8-0, the DSD-B280LC. I think it's my best option because you just plug it in, and boom! you have a decoder and sound all in one. Surely worth the $120 dollars. That's probably my best bet.

A whole different subject, but Jim, could you describe the Atlas System so I have an idea of what it will be like? (Like what kind of decoders you use... the power of the controller, etc....) I hope you don't mind!

Thanks guys! Good find Gary. I think that what I'm going to get, but I'm going to find it the cheapest place I can... *goes off to search*

Devon

Russ Bellinis