Decoder in an MDC Roundhouse 2-8-0

Racharg

Oct 24, 2003
Ontario, Canada
Visit site
I'm a DCC newbie. My first decoder install on an atlas gp35 went well and after much squeezing and shaving, I've managed to install a decoder in the tender of an MDC roundouse 2-8-0. Now I seem to have developed a short somewhere. Is there a tried and true method of determining the cause of the short? Is there a way to test the functionality of the chip once it is wired in to make sure that it is working properly? The light function works fine but there's no motor rotation on either DCC or DC track power. And as a final open ended question ;) , are there any tips out there that would help out?

TIA
Rich.

Rich,

Was the loco built from a kit?

I recently purchased a couple of RTR MDC Old-time 2-6-0s and a 2-8-0. I had a problems that sounds very similar to yours with one of the 2-6-0s. When I returned it to MDC they diagnosed "an unusual electrical problem in the manufacturing".

All of these locos came with a label cautioning the user to check the the DCC plug for reversed wiring. Two if the locos (one 2-6-0 and one 2-8-0) had this problem. The loco that I tried the decoder in did not have that particular problem but apparently had another.

I kept only the 2-8-0 but I have not installed a decoder in it yet.

Do you have a VOM (volt -ohm-milliampmeter)? This tool is a neccessity for troubleshooting this kind of problem, the very cheapest is all you need - about $15. This can measure voltage to the motor, current draw and resistance to sniff out a short by disconnecting wires until the short disappears.