Dcc

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by kevin, Dec 21, 2004.

  1. kevin

    kevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just purchased a Bachman Spectrum Steam Loco and a Lenz DCC. How do I install decoder?
  2. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't looked at the dcc forum yet to see if you posted this there, but if not go to the dcc forum and there is a "sticky" at the top of the board with a lot of good info, and some web sites to check out for info on specific dcc decoder applications.
  3. willist

    willist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have the decoder that came with your Lenz system take it to your LHS and see if they'll trade you for a decoder with a plug already installed [Lenz makes great decoders] then all you have to do is take the shell off the tender and plug it in.
  4. jwmurrayjr

    jwmurrayjr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kevin,

    Which Spectrum loco do you have?
  5. willist

    willist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the 2-8-0, a very nice engine. I eventually replaced the Lenz decoder with a Soundtraxx decoder. Even though they sell it as the correct decoder for that engine it takes a little modification to get it to fit. Its well worth the money and effort. Good luck with whatever decoder you go with, just remeber "Plug and Play"