DCC or Ready modern Yard Switcher?

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by MarcO, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. MarcO

    MarcO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all im looking for a dcc ready yard switcher. I model modern west coast (SP, UP, BNSP). I pretty good and modding frames if need be. Let me know if you have any tips thanks!

    No I cant afford that sweet brass one in MR this month haha.

    MarcO
  2. nolatron

    nolatron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. MarcO

    MarcO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes thats the first one ive seen, not sure how i missed it as im a big Kato fan, thanks.
  4. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you're going to have a hard time finding a DCC-ready switcher in N-scale... especially a modern one.

    You could look at the ConCor MP15's which are definitely more modern than the NW2.

    The Proto N SW900/1200 switchers were good runners, more modern than the NW2, but again, not DCC/DCC ready - and more importantly, not available. Although they do show up at swap meets.
  5. revjerwayne

    revjerwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about the Atlas MP15DC? It is DCC ready and if yiu add a TCS decoder it runs very well.

    Jerry
  6. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    The trick would be finding one... Walthers is out of stock or disc. when sold out on most road names, so I suspect this is going to be the case with most distributors.

    They're re-stocking some in late August, though, so if he can hang on 'til then... ;)
  7. nolatron

    nolatron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Biased turkey

    Biased turkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a procedure if you want to install a decoder in a Life-Like SW9-1200
    LifeLike SW9-1200

    I purchased the SW9-1200 2 years ago. I have to tweak it ( contact springs ) and add a micro-trains coupler. After that , it works smoothly now.
    I didn't install a DCC decoder.

    Good yard switchers are rare in N scale. I'm looking forward to purchase the Canadian Pacific MP15-DC next suimmer

    Jacques
  9. dwight77

    dwight77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a Kato NW2 and then bought the Digitrax DN123K3 decoder from Brooklyn Locomotive. It is a drop-in decoder, I made the installation, programmed the loco number, and it works great.
    dwight77
  10. revjerwayne

    revjerwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. dwight77

    dwight77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brooklyn Locomotive Works ( Brooklyn Locomotive Works -- Your N Scale Source ) has the Kato NW-2 in stock ($67.50) and the Digitrax DN123K3 in stock ($22.75).
    I have had excellent service from BLW and found their prices to be very competitive. Kline's looks like they have a good shop also....I was not familiar with them...thanks for the reference.
    dwight77
  12. jmurphy148

    jmurphy148 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an NW-2. It's a bit noisy which is a surprise for a Kato loco. I changed one coupler to Micro-Trains coupler but for some reason I can't seem to get the second one right. Does anyone know someone who services loco's and can mount couplers?

    John