dcc maniac ??

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by sschaer, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. sschaer

    sschaer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the last few days i installed 'a couple' of digitrax decoders. now i even dream of plastic bacs with red tabs...:eek:

    here's what i installed ....

    19 dn163a0 in atlas g38
    22 dn163k1b in kato sd40/sd40-2/c44-9
    56 dn163k1b in kato ac4400


    also a few of the older sd40-decoders (dn149k2) have been replaced. these are for sale now. most have the original yellow leds some are converted to white leds. if anyone is interested then please let me know.
  2. sams

    sams Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    guess you had a busy weakend santro ;)
  3. Delamaize

    Delamaize Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Geesh!!!

    wow, can yo usee strait still!! How many times did you burn yourself sodering?!
    good luck!
  4. Bikerdad

    Bikerdad Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do the K1b's fit, like a glove?
  5. sschaer

    sschaer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    delamaize..

    plug-in decoders, no soldering needed :)



    bikedad...

    almost. they fit c44/ac440 without any kind of work on either the shell or the decoder. however, digitrax is still unable to design a decoder which fits a sd40/sd40-2. the dn163k1a AND dn163k1b will lift the cab when installed. you still need to file down the front led a bit.
  6. Bikerdad

    Bikerdad Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sandro,

    Do you know if the K1b actually fits cleanly into the SD70MAC? The K1a fits muy bueno... (As I don't have any SD40/SD40-2 units to worry about...)
  7. sschaer

    sschaer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    bikerdad

    i assume the dn163k1b will fit cleanly since they need a bit less space than a dn163k1a. somewhere i have a couple of sd70. i'll check that for you.
  8. OwenCPR

    OwenCPR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Sandro,

    I assume you did this in conveyor belt fashion???
  9. sschaer

    sschaer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, almost belt like. now i just need to programm and speed-match all the locos. and of course, still 18 ac4400 to renumber....
  10. sschaer

    sschaer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    bikerdad

    the dn163k1b fits the sd70. no modifitcations on the shell or decoder needed.