dcc for new layout

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by ho_scale_rail, Aug 8, 2005.

  1. ho_scale_rail

    ho_scale_rail Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am building an n scale layout and would like to be able to run multipule trains, so i was led to dcc. What is the cheapest dcc system i can get for n scale and how much will the locomotives cost me?
  2. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    It may be a good idea to pick up a copy of Model Railroder Magazine and look at the ads to give you answers to your questions.
  3. ho_scale_rail

    ho_scale_rail Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have 3 issues of the magzine.
  4. Will_annand

    Will_annand Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you want cheap, or do you want reliable?

    Several companies offer DCC, however, our club is in the process of researching for a DCC system for our new 16'x40' HO layout. We asked most of the clubs in southern Ontario about which system, almost all said that unless you want to spend lots of time tweaking the system or replacing bad hand units, that you should get Digitrax. It is not the cheapest, but the cheap ones are not reliable and you end up spending more to fix/replace them usually just after the warranty runs out.
  5. DavidMcIntyre

    DavidMcIntyre New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can buy a Digitrax Zephyr starter set for around $160 at various places. It is a very strong system, and if you decide to expand it's very easy. I started with a Zephyr, but have already added several DT400 throttles, a bunch of turnout decoders, reversing loop controllers, etc. So, it can form the basis of a large system while not costing much to get started.

    -Dave
  6. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a DigiTrax Empire builder, it is very easy to run many trains at the same time. All of the DigiTrax systems are very easy to use, especially if you get a DT400 throttle.