DCC Curiosity Questions

Discussion in 'DCC & Electronics' started by Woodie, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. Woodie

    Woodie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just out of curiosity, and to determine who is doing what, I've got a few "survey" type questions of others. And to get a general idea of who is up to what, specially when it come to using a computer with DCC.

    Just reply with "quote" and slot your answers in after the questions would be easiest I suppose.

    1: How long have you been running DCC for?

    2: Does your DCC system have the ability to interface to your computer?

    3: Do you intend to interface your DCC system to your computer?

    4: Are you currently running your DCC layout with the use of a computer?

    5: Any comments?

    I just want to get an idea of how many Gauge members are running DCC, and how many are using their computer with it, and whether I'm "pioneering" the use of a computer, or there are others here that are well versed with it.

    Thanks. :wave: :thumb:
  2. Woodie

    Woodie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    The answers about me?

  3. Gary Pfeil

    Gary Pfeil Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Woodie, I am such a computer moron I don't know how to quote!
    But here are some answers:

    I've had dcc for 5 or 6 years
    Yes
    Only if you come over to help me with it! :) Seriously, I would like to play with it, but I would need someone nearby who was into it to come and take charge of it, I have too much railroad to build, and I (kind of) know how to do that!
  4. Woodie

    Woodie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gary, to "quote" you just click the "quote" button down the bottom right of the post, then edit the post accordingly. :thumb: It copies in the post you are replying to to, and you can slot your own comments in where needed. :wave:
  5. davidstrains

    davidstrains Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0

    Woodie,

    Here is my response.
  6. rksstl

    rksstl Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    1: How long have you been running DCC for? about 1 1/2 years
    spent a couple of years just reading about it.

    2: Does your DCC system have the ability to interface to your computer? no

    3: Do you intend to interface your DCC system to your computer? no
    I spend waaaay to much time behind one now. :D

    4: Are you currently running your DCC layout with the use of a computer? n/a

    5: Any comments? I agree with david I throughly enjoy the benefits of DCC and wouldn't change back to conventional DC. I usually spend too much time playing with CV's and trying different lighting and should go and get my track finished and start some scenery. But that's what the Layout Parties are for. :D
  7. caellis

    caellis Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    1: How long have you been running DCC for?
    1 1/2 years Lenz 100 with both 90 and 100 Cabs

    2: Does your DCC system have the ability to interface to your computer?
    Yes, USB

    3: Do you intend to interface your DCC system to your computer?
    Have been for 6 months.

    4: Are you currently running your DCC layout with the use of a computer?
    Yes

    5: Any comments?
    Use the computer as additional Cabs. And for operating switches using Switch-It and Hare decoders on Tortise machines. Am not currently using feed back from Hare's so the Switch-It's are more cost effective in that each Switch-It costs about 2/3 as much as Hare and controls two Tortise each.
  8. CalFlash

    CalFlash Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    1: How long have you been running DCC for? 3 years but layout is still under construction

    2: Does your DCC system have the ability to interface to your computer? yes

    3: Do you intend to interface your DCC system to your computer? yes

    4: Are you currently running your DCC layout with the use of a computer? no

    5: Any comments? I began this layout with the intent of going DCC from the start and am happy with the decision. Wiring has been simplified as I think operations will be.
  9. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Woodie:

    1: How long have you been running DCC for?

    2+ years

    2: Does your DCC system have the ability to interface to your computer?

    Not yet, but I have a Mac, and I am unsure if the interface s/w is compatible. I could get an old laptop running windows to be dedicated to this job...

    3: Do you intend to interface your DCC system to your computer?

    See above... ;)

    4: Are you currently running your DCC layout with the use of a computer?

    No. Primary plans for computer interface is to ease programming.

    5: Any comments?

    Running Digitrax DCC. Use a Zephyr at home with an MRC Tech II for a "jump" throttle. Use Digitrax Super Chiefs and Empire Builders with all varieties of throttles in wired, radio, and IR at modular club (www.hotrak.ca).

    Andrew
  10. Woodie

    Woodie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. xtcrr

    xtcrr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    1: How long have you been running DCC for?

    1 year

    2: Does your DCC system have the ability to interface to your computer?
    Yes
    3: Do you intend to interface your DCC system to your computer?
    it is allready
    4: Are you currently running your DCC layout with the use of a computer?
    yes
    5: Any comments?
    Hope you have time to set this all up!
    I use digitrax with railroad and Co software!
  12. cnw1961

    cnw1961 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need my computers for my job and for surfing, that is enough computer for me – no computers för my trains.

    Kurt
  13. HPRL

    HPRL Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    There you have it.......
  14. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Woodie...

    Thanks for that info - sorry I missed it for so long...! ;) I expect I might be able to connect a programming track to the old iMac that my daughter has for her Winnie-the-Pooh and Dora games... :D

    Andrew
  15. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'am running a Digitrax system with the cheif