DCC and The NW2

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by fifer, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. fifer

    fifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a preview of my decoder install in the Kato NW2.
    More info will follow.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Mike
  2. csxengineer

    csxengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    New NW2

    Hi,

    How does the kato NW2 compare to Atlas MP15 or the life like sw9-sw1200 for slow speeds, pulling power?

    I am only using DC, so no decoders in my future.:cry:
  3. darkcurves

    darkcurves Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that was fast.
  4. fifer

    fifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    csxengineer
    I really don't know as I do not have either of the other locos. I understand this guy in stock form will pull about 8 cars up a 2%. I have not tried it yet because mine will never leave my yard area. It is a bit more noisy than most Kato's but with the gear drive mechanism I would expect that.
    Thanks , Mike
  5. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like the way you installed the chip- aren't Katos one of the best, even older ones are silent?
  6. RidgeRunner

    RidgeRunner Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, is that the TCS M1 decoder?

    I'll probably wait til Digitrax releases the drop-in for it before I DCCify mine. :D
  7. fifer

    fifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it is a Lenz Silver Mini.
    Thanks , Mike :wave: