DC Supply track problem

huttojb

Hi gents.

This is my first post, my father-in-law has a model train set and he wants me to do the electronic behind it.

I'm an electronic engineer / software engineer so I know my stuff but I don;t want to re-invent the wheel if there is a solution out there.

Can anyone please point me in the correct area. Thankx

Jason

Attachments

• untitled.JPG
    untitled.JPG
    26.4 KB · Views: 197

cidchase

Hi Jason,
Simplest answer: DCC (simple answer, maybe not so simple to implement.
You should have no problem.)
DC solution requires isolated track blocks with toggle switches
to change polarity on the tracks.

huttojb

Thanks.

I just went to reply and say I worked it out. Was thinking more about a turn wheel by using a DC Motor and decoder to monitor position.

I'm gonna be using a PIC controller and gonna put IR Tx/Rx to monitor train locations and change issolaters accordingly.

Thanks for the reply.

huttojb

Can you buy isolated track blocks with toggle switches?

Can you give me a website where I can get my father-in-law to buy a couple?

Jason

huttojb

Just a quick question.

I'be been reading up on issolation blocks. This consist of cutting the +ve and -ve tracks and only powing the points between these blocks.

A couple of questions;

How big can the "GAP" be to restrict the train being de-railed?

steamhead

Hi,

There is no need for a gap, as such. There are insulating (plastic) rail joiners, with a little vertical tab that comes up to rail height. The track is held firmly but there is no electrical continuity.

Good luck!!!

doctorwayne

Is this supposed to be a wye? It looks to me like a track splitting into two tracks at a turnout. If so, connect one wire to each rail on the point side of the turnout (near the "arrowhead" for the "trains arriving"). No gaps or insulated rail joiners are needed.
By the way, welcome to the Gauge, Jason.

Wayne

huttojb

Hi Gent's