DC or DCC??

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by iis612, May 7, 2008.

?

DC or DCC

  1. DC

    30.7%
  2. DCC

    70.7%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. iis612

    iis612 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you use, plan to use, want to use??

    There are obvious benefits to DCC and DC too.

    What system do you use?
  2. iis612

    iis612 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will be using DC to start with, but as my layout grows I will upgrade to DCC
  3. nachoman

    nachoman Guest

    I am using a standard MRC dc power pack until I get all my track layed. It is basically just to test my trackwork.

    Once the track gets layed, I am 99% sure I will get an inexpensive bachmann DCC unit to play around with.

    Once I get decoders in all my locos and get to some stage where I am attempting to operate more, I may get another DCC system and leave the bachmann for temporary setups and holiday displays.

    Kevin
  4. bigsteel

    bigsteel Call me Mr.Tinkertrain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you had the option i would have used both,cause my 4 by 8 is going to be DC as only 1 trai will run at a time. and my larger more complicated layout will be simplified with a DCC system.--josh
  5. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I got back in the hobby after 25 years out, I started with dc, learned about dcc, switched to Ez Command, then NCE. No regrets at all.

    Loren
  6. abutt

    abutt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    New layout is planned for straight DC, but might talk myself into DCC later
  7. TrainNut

    TrainNut Ditat Deus

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Digitrax Zephyr with a UR91 and a DT400r. I like the Digitrax setup because I can still run my DC engines on a DCC setup using the OO address.
  8. riverotter

    riverotter Midwest Alliance Rail Sys

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently using DC with a wireless walk-around throttle and power-routing turnouts which works great for a medium-sized, one-operator layout like mine.

    I am beginning to build a series of "dominoes" that will also serve as a test platform for DCC.

    The main obstacles to conversion to DCC on the main layout are (a) co$t, and (b) non-convertible locomotives that I'm not willing to get rid of just to have DCC.
  9. Biased turkey

    Biased turkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    I voted DC , because people would laugh at me if I use DCC for such a tiny N scale layout .

    Jacques

    [​IMG]
  10. jambo101

    jambo101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll stick with DC until i can find room to graduate from a shelf layout to something much bigger.
  11. Walt Gee

    Walt Gee New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to start with DC just in order to get things up and running as inexpensively as possible. Since none of my motive power which is weight restricted prototypically to the 4-4-0 wheel arrangement is available with RP-25 wheelsets I will have to kitbash-scratchbuild my motive power. With this in mind I am reasonably certain that I can mount a Digitrax decoder and 1" speaker in the tenders of both the Pennsy modern D-16, and a CNJ 4-4-0 Camelback. The two Baldwin generic modern 4-4-0's are somewhat problematic and may have to have some sort of mod. Would an N gauge decoder/spkr work? I don't know. The "Yellow Jacket" was a single vehicle verticle boiler steam powered inspection unit that was used to carry the mail, packages, and passengers to Barnegat City, known as Barnegat Light today.

    At some point I want to be able to run the Pennsy "Seashore Express" from Camden to Beach Haven, stopping at Barnegat village to pick up CNJ passengers also bound for Beach Haven on Long Beach Island, NJ. This was the route that my grandparents took from NYC. In addition, the Tuckerton Rail Road will be running its regular mixed and freight service to Beach Haven and Barnegat City. In all, I expect that we could have something like 5 consists running similtaneousy.

    Yeah, I have golden dreams on a copper budget! Oh Well! I can dream can't I?
  12. shaygetz

    shaygetz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm actually getting ready to remove DCC from all my locos, since I am unable to continue my membership at the club and I have no desire to fork over the necessary coin to install a system on my small layouts. I'm currently working on a shorting plug to fit all my DigiTrax 9 pin connectors so that they can remain wired for any future financial windfall.
  13. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run dcc at the club, but the plan right now is to run dc at home. My home layout will be a switching layout based on the Los Angeles Junction Railway, and will only run one locomotive. The only "kicker" in the equation is that it must be a cordless walk around throttle. I have the basic "Train Engineer" from Crest which used to be Aristo Craft. The only possible problem is that the throttle has a built in momentum and braking. My experience is that momentum and braking done electronically is about as unprototypical as having directional lighting that cannot be bypassed. Having realistic acceleration and braking is fine, but the "dead time" between when you turn on the throttle and the locomotive moves, or when you shut off the throttle and the train stops is not prototypical. If I can learn to use the throttle so that I don't have to wait forever to get a train moving from stop or have difficulty getting it to stop where I want it, I'll stay with dcc. If I find the throttle delays unacceptable, I'll go with dcc. I just don't know of any other wireless alternative.
  14. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    As of now one of the HO club's has gone DCC..The other HO club has shelved the idea till we get the cash.The N Scale club has decided DC for now since that is what the majority uses on their small home layouts.

    Now here I sit at a decision point.Currently I don't have room for a HO ISL(Industrial Switching Layout) However,I do have room for a 2x4 foot N Scale layout.At this time I am debating if I want to use BASIC DCC with Bachmann's EZ DCC system or use my trusty MRC CM-20 should I decide to build a small N Scale layout..In case you are wondering it is possible to have 2 train operation on a 2x4 footer .
  15. Biased turkey

    Biased turkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree Brakie, my 25" X 36" layout ( see picture above ) is divided in 4 blocks and I can run 2 trains .

    Jacques
  16. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    DCC for me...
  17. Biased turkey

    Biased turkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you please tell us why you opted for DC ?

    Jacques
  18. lester perry

    lester perry Guest

    I was a die hard DCer. then I bought a BLI C&O T1. It would run on DC with the sound. but it had momentum that I couldn"t get rid of the momentum with DC,so I started shopping. I decided I liked MRC Prodogy Advanced. Watched ads and ran across a sale in Model Rairoader. It had a typo and prodogy advance was $180. I called they they were not very happy but sold it to me for that price. I got 2 more decoders with sound for GP7 or 9. Installed them and never looked back. The typo was Tonys trains.
    Les
  19. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have the Digitrax Zephyr along with a UR91 and a DT400R. Also my latest addition was the DS64 for turnout control
  20. RobertInOntario

    RobertInOntario Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    My layout is DC because it's small and I have a lot of stock (much of it is 30- to 45-years-old) that is already DC. It would cost a lot to convert at this point.

    I recently considered DCC when I learned that it's actually quite easy to convert my older locos but the cost (and time?) is putting me off. I have about 24 locos and the change over would cost a lot, even if I just converted half of them.

    If I ever build a large layout one day, I might consider DCC, but right now DC is just fine for me.

    Rob