Currrent Progress, Now what??

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by Connor, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are some pictures of my layout in progress..

    Let me know what you think, and I'm really not sure where to go from here.. This is my first layout.

    Attached Files:

  2. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    More pictures..

    Attached Files:

  3. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    More pictures..

    Attached Files:

  4. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    More pictures..

    Attached Files:

  5. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last picture for now..

    Attached Files:

  6. FiatFan

    FiatFan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Connor, you're doing an excellent job! Assuming the track is all wired, the next step would be to start putting in scenery and structures. Before you get too far along, run the trains a lot. Make sure your trackwork is good.

    Tom
  7. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Track is temporarly wired. I still haven't laid down the road bed yet or done the plaster cloth for the tunnels. I'm just not sure weather to do plaster cloth or track bed first.. I've been running the trains and they're doing pretty good. Also, when is the right time to solder the track together and solder the feeders on the track..
  8. Chessie6459

    Chessie6459 Gauge Oldtimer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Connor, looks really good so far. :thumb: :thumb: Keep us updated on what you are doing. :wave: :wave:
  9. LIRR

    LIRR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're doing a great job so far!
  10. LIRR

    LIRR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. jasbourre

    jasbourre Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks good so far. I notice that the 6th picture your track is very close to the edge of the table, will that stay that way?
  12. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was before I finailaized my tunnel, Same area show in pictures 10, 17, and the bottom picture. After adding the tunnel and riser on that side. It'll be enclosed with stryfoam.
  13. francismaximus

    francismaximus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    the track layout really looks awsome. Im gonna guess this can be a very busy railroad. Looks great!!
  14. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having a hard enough time keeping 1 train going without derailing cause of forgot to throw a switch. I really hate the fact that you have to throw a switch when your going the opposite way through it. The points on the turnout give (flex), but, inevitably it derails a car. This layout is DCC, and I have 2 DS54's to control up to 8 turnouts, I'll need to get a few more of those little buggers so I can control ALL my switch machines. I just need to figure out how to program routes and/or make it as simple as possible to operate. How do most people control/operate thier layout with regards to switches and a simple switch yard etc?
  15. CalFlash

    CalFlash Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do mean MACROs so you can throw all turnouts for a selected route? I have done so for my lower staging loops and it works great. What DDC system are you using? There may be differences in how you actually set them up. On NCE you select macros macro number, program (or review if desired), then start selecting accessories (turnouts) by address and which why you want them. Keep sececting and specifying turnouts for the path. Let us know what you have and other's can add notes if different.
  16. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, MACRO's, Routes, whatever you want to call them. I'm using Digitrax Super Empire Builder. I keep hearing refrences to staging tracks/loops, exactly what's that and what's it for?
  17. francismaximus

    francismaximus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know in the wiring for model railroads books by kalmbach pub the old fashioned way is to use toggle switches and diodes and making a nice board to mount it on with lines for each route. I'll scan a page and post it to give you a general idea.
  18. robt46

    robt46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Layout

    Conner, nice layout. Wish you lots of luck with it. I'm also setting up my layout. And I also have DCC. I'm following your thread closely. I'm new at this too. So it seems like your questions and mine are similar. Hope you don't mind my lurking on the info. I've been told that I needed to add run arounds for the Locos after they pull into the yard in order to get to the service facility.(round house,shop, or just to refuel or maintence. also the yard switcher needs a place to switch cars and redo the make up of the trains to head for different destinations. that must be the staging tracks. Plus the Locos need a place to wait. Mabe I'm wrong but I thought I'd give you my 2 cents. I'm sure somebody will give us the right stuff. Hehe. Robt. Wow thats the most I've posted so far. LOL. Oh by the way I Like that shot of the layout with all the sunlight also. I'm jealous!
  19. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Cool, Thanks Fancismaximus!

    robt46, We're all here to learn and share!! I can't take credit for the layout design, I saw the layout from someone else here on the gauge. I did make a few mods to it though. My next step is probably to start layout road bed, more foam for the edges and plaster cloth. I also need to glue my top sheet of foam down to the piece under it.. I've been holding off on doing that as I needed to be able to cut easily into the top piece.

    I also need to work on my loco's a bit, one of them starts moving around the 24-28% mark, the other something like 37% or more.. Makes it a tad hard to do delicate slow work.
  20. up_santafe

    up_santafe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow!

    Very impressive, I wish I would have used 2" foam instead of 1" without an underlayment so I could have brought my track down in the back! Keep up the good work.

    Ray