CSS Fredricksburg

cdavenport

Sep 1, 2006
Athens,Georgia
I am building the 1/250 CSS Fredricksburg available online from a cardmodel design source.

It's a very simple waterline model that builds into a honey of a vessel. I am working towards building a diorama depicting the vessel under replenishment. I have already spent more on accessories than the model...waay more. Oh well.

You will notice that I reinforced the hull with styrofoam; I like to have something solid to glue to. This prevents any problems with the seams and allows me to have smooth transitions between seams. You'll see once everything is glued down. At this point, I am still dry fitting.

I am not very good at making very small parts from paper. So, I am turning the guns from aluminum. It takes just a few minutes versus many to roll paper, sand it, paint it....ad nauseum. A purist I am not.

Attachments

• Hull 640.jpg
    Hull 640.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 97
  • Casement dryfit.jpg
    Casement dryfit.jpg
    48.2 KB · Views: 89
  • Model casement.jpg
    Model casement.jpg
    49.2 KB · Views: 47
  • Model Brooke Rifle.jpg
    Model Brooke Rifle.jpg
    49.4 KB · Views: 49

cdavenport

Sep 1, 2006
Athens,Georgia
You're gonna hate me; I blackened it with a permanent marker. In the process of handling it, some of the permanent ink wore away to reveal aluminum highlights underneath.

This technique comes from the School of Dumb Luck of which I am president!

cdavenport

Sep 1, 2006
Athens,Georgia
Nearing Completion

Nearing completion. I made major progress by rebuilding the casement so that the seams are more accurate.

On the bow, I scratchbuilt the anchor and capstan, the former from brass rod and paper, the latter using a lollipop stick turned on a Dremel tool. I had some scale chain that seemed to work just fine. I even fashioned a block and tackle rig out of fine copper wire and paper to which I added a grapple fashioned from brass wire.