Crossover into a reversing loop

BigJim

Nov 19, 2006
North Plains, Oregon
dixiemtn.com
I am planning on having a crossover with a reversing loop on one side. The other side of the crossover connects to a dual track with a duplicated at the other end. The dual track will always stay connected to the A & B outputs of the DCC as shown with the B output connected to the 12v DC ground..

I have read that I can switch the phase (phase = polarity with an AC signal) while the train is in the loop without problems. I have also read that the "auto-sense" systems that see a short when a metal wheel crosses a gap with opposite phase on each side can cause small pits in the wheel from the short duration current across the gap. Having a small double gap dead track and switching before the wheel hits the second gap should solve this problem.

It has been a few years since I worked as an electronic tech (about 35:) ) so I am a little rusty but would like to design and build some of my own special controls rather than just buying black boxes.

Anybody know if this will work? If there aren't some advantages I am not sure I want to lay the extra 50' of track for the dual track onnection between the loops.

Flip-flop is just 1/2 of a cross-wired 4001 CMOS quad 2 input nor gate. I don't think the resistors are critical but about a 3 to one ratio (larger value to ground) should result in about an 11 v pulse that will be more than enough for the 8.5 volt maximum set or reset voltage of CMOS at 12v supply (6v nominal). The eight cuts in track are a little hard to see but the diode connections go to a short section of "dead" track between insulated gaps. Since I only need about 4ms for the relay to switch the dead track only needs to be a fraction of an inch long.
crossover2.gif

I see four conditions: