Crossing Problem

scat

May 28, 2006
Hello ,
I am fairly new to Model Railroading but I have a feeling I will be in it for a very long time. What a great hobby! I have endevered to construct my first n scale layout. It's 14' by 12' on ply with a 1 1/2 " foam bed. So far I have layed around 100 ft code 80 flex track with 8 switches and also have used 6 crossovers. I am planning on going 2 more levels up with the track and useing 2 tech 4 mrc 280 power supplies for 4 seperate "?? Bus ??" voltage supplies to the layout. I am useing Peco insulfrog turnouts with Tourtise switch machines. They told me at the train shop I should use insulfrog turnouts because they are easier to wire. ( Kinda wish I would have used the electrafrogs now ). It's been a challange and a whole lotta fun building it so far. I have the 100' of track that I have laid now functioning and considering this is my first layout I am pretty happy with how it's working. But there are 2 problems (so far) that I cant seem to figure out and I am hopeing some one could give me a hand with. Problem #1 is with a 90% crossing I am useing. It worked fine for a while but now suddenly when my locomotives try to cross over it they jump up in the air sometimes derailing. This only happens on 1 side of the crossing and only to the locomotives , not the cars. I checked for nails sticking up , debrie on the track stuff like that and I dont see any type of damage to the crossing either. Its an Atlas crossing 90%. This happens with any locomotive I run on it. Seems a little worse with a steam loco. The track is still straght and level also.