Couplers

cbuttre835

OK, folks, relative newbie here...

I have about a dozen and a half Bachmann "toy" HO cars; the kind with the couplers made into the trucks, and a pair of "toy" Bachmann locomotives.

Bought me a few Model Power cars; these are a lot heavier made, but still have the horn and hook couplers made into the trucks. The trucks fit into the body (undercarriage? frame? :confused: ) a lot nicer than the Bachmann stuff. And they don't derail at all.

Oh yea, I also have a "decent" Bachmann locomotive; at least it's heavy, runs quietly, and pulls very hard; and a handful of somewhat nicer Bachmann cars with the horn-hook couplers mounted on the body.

Reason I bring that up, is that I read on a FAQ / sticky thread here that cars with couplers made to the body rather than the trucks are better. I can sort of agree with this, I guess -- rather than towing the truck that tows the "body" that tows the other truck, you're towing body-to-body. I won't question existing wisdom.

I'd like to explore some of the automatic (magnetic type) couplers; I have spent a little time reading on the Kadee website on how they work and it seems pretty dang neat to me.

Question is; is it worth or even possible to use the little "toy" cars that I have with nice Kadee or other mag couplers? I don't plan on upgrading the little locomotives I have; but like I said before I have a wad of Bachmann cars and now these 4 slightly nicer Model Power cars, that I don't wanna shelve or sell... (stranded investment)

Seems like, locally and on eBay, that the decent cars (Walters / Athearn) with Kadees sell for $10+ each. I don't wanna experiment at that price level; the kids might lose interest and I don't wanna tie up that much cash.

So are the toy and slightly above toy stuff I got worth at least experimenting with? Or will I bring mass frustration upon myself and all around me?

Links to other threads appreciated; too, I haven't got the hang of searching here yet.

Thanks...