Cornerstone Roundhouse - N Scale

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Connor, Mar 23, 2007.

  1. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, anyone put one of these together? Apparently I'm suppose to install the rails.. I'm using Code 55 on my layout, will that work okay for this? Would code 80 be better? (The turntable has code 80) What's the best way to secure the track? What's the best way to feed this track with power? Should I go ahead and extended the track with ties attached on the outside of the roundhouse for the 1 15/16" spacing requirements for going to the turntable?

    Thanks, Connor
  2. Jim Krause

    Jim Krause Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use code 55 rail in the roundhouse. It will require that you raise the code 55 rail to match the top of the code 80 rail on the turntable or lower the turntable to match the roundhouse and the approach tracks. I suspect that smaller rail would have been used in a roundhouse as it is in yards. Now that I think of it, theres a good topic for discussion. Does anybody know for sure?
  3. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, what about securing the track to the round house? and should I just extended the track with ties attached the 1 15/15" outside the round house?
  4. Jim Krause

    Jim Krause Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used super glue to attach the rail in the single stall engine house that I just finished. Does your roundhouse have work pits or just a flat floor? I left the ties on the outer end of my track and made up a wooden gauge to keep everything aligned inside the building until the glue set up. Don't use too much glue and get things stuck where you don't want them.
  5. Connor

    Connor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, this one has inspection pits. I'm using foam for my benchwork top, so no biggie there.