Converting EMD GP7 to EMD NF210

Oroka

Nov 6, 2005
Port Elgin, ON
I am from Newfoundland Canada, and I would like to do a N scale layout based on the former railway in Newfoundland.

Problem is that no kit exists of the narrow guage locomotives. I am fine with using a standard guage track and trucks, but still, the EMD NF210 does not exist, in any scale.

After extensive research, I have come to the conclusion that the NF210 was designed off of alot of major EMD GP7 locos. The engine section is very very simular, and most of the cab is the same too, but its location is right on the end of the unit, not a bit forward like the GP7s. Also, the NF210s are a 6 wheel truck rather than the common 4 wheel trucks of most GP7s, although there are 6 wheel truck GP7s.

I would like to modify proably 2 GP7s into NF210s. Anyone have any suggestions and/or advice on the modification. I am a medium skilled modeler, pretty handy overall and feel this is a project that is within my skills.

Here are some photo examples of a NF210:

cn931.jpg

cn935.jpg

cn946.jpg

And here is a decent pic of a GP7
ga1026.jpg

ezdays

Out AZ way
Feb 3, 2003
Arizona
bigbluetrains.com
To start with, welcome to the Gauge. There are many modelers here that can help you, and I'm sure they will show up and give you the kind of advice you need. It wouldn't surprise me if you find a few that have already done what you want to do.

Me, I can't help you in this since I've never tried a loco conversion, but I thought I'd just say hi, and let you know we are glad to see you.:wave::wave:

C

Catt

Hello Oroka,like Don has said allready "Welcome to the Gauge." also like Don,I'm afraid I can't help you much on this project either.Those certainly are intriging looking locomotives and I hope you keep us posted as you progress on them.

eightyeightfan1

Now I'm AMP'd
Jun 18, 2002
Torrington, Ct.
Welcome too the Gauge.