Come along on our adventure

cabdriver

Jan 23, 2005
Hi all. :wave: I'm new to the-gauge and relatively new "again" to model railroading. I'm similar to many of you in that I had a great interest in model railroading as a kid, did some stuff with my father, and am now rekindling the interest with my own sons after many years. My sons and I have decided to build the "World's Greatest Hobby" layout, with personal modification, of course. We thought we would invite you all to join us by recording our adventure here -- let us know if you are interested. :rolleyes:

We began several months ago, and I unfortunately don't have pictures of our early progress. We started with two sheets of plywood and have now built our 4x8 benchwork (I used to think it was called a table) and covered it with 1" foam (can't find anything thicker here). I have to tell all you seasoned folk -- I have never built anything close to this benchwork in my life. My sense of satisfaction with just the benchwork is unbelievable ...My dad was very skilled in woodworking, machining, and electrical work. I am ABSOLUTLEY AMAZED that after all these years, when it came time to build this benchwork, I was able to follow the suggestions on the video and could even recall my Dad giving me tips on how to measure, how to cut, how to strip wire and make a solid electrical connection, etc. My advice -- never underestimate the impact you have on your kids! May take many years, but it will be there when they need it. My kids and I am SO proud of our benchwork! It is level, it is sturdy, and it has a train track on it! Whohoo!!

We've decided to use Atlas True-Trak for our rail -- I know this might be beginner style, but we debated it long and hard and decided that given our skill level and what we wanted to accomplish, it would suffice. We liked the true track better than the Bachman EZ-track that was suggested on the video. By the way, we're going DCC!