College student needs small layout ideas

jonhguth

Mar 21, 2005
Raleigh, NC
I'm a college student in a rented house and i'm trying to come up with ways to make a space effecient design. My parents just sold our house so now all my stuff is in boxes. I think i am going to sell some of it off but i want to keep some of it but i can't figure out how to make an HO scale layout that i can fit anywhere.

any ideas?

sumpter250

multiscale modelbuilder
Jan 19, 2002
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Visit site
While I was on active duty, I built an 8' X 10' modular layout. The modules measured 24" X 3'-10 1/2". Two sheets of 3/4" plywood made up a crate, 4' X4' X 25-1/2 ". the inside dimensions? 3'-10 1/2" X 3'-10 1/2" X 24".
Wood rails were attached to the insides of the sides of the crate so the modules could be slid in. After the 4' X 4' cover was attached, I'd drive screws through the sides and ends(covers), into the module frames, making the whole package one solid piece. Never had any scenery damage, even when the crates were delivered upside down!
Pete

shortliner

Dec 23, 2004
I can't guarantee that this will solve your problem, but it may help. Go to
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/small-layout-design/ and on the home page you'll find two more addresses - these are for our overflow files. Have a good poke about in our files, and see if anything takes your fancy
Shortliner(Jack away up here in the Highlands, and co-moderator of the above

Tileguy

Apr 28, 2003
Northern Mn
Visit site
One other thing to consider is something thats fairly new in this country but all the rage in Japan.
Table Top modular layouts.
An entire tabletop modular layout can be taken apart and stored in an old trunk or a really large tabletop can be stored in 2 trunks.Take a look at Ntrack modules and buils an HO tabletop using similar design perameters.
You may not have to sell anything, you just need to rethink your strategy a little :)