coal mine

I am new to the hobby but have built models all my life including remote control aircraft. I would like to scratch build a coal mine but I am not sure how they look/operate with the exception of some pictures I see on other people's layouts. Does anybody know where I could get a set of plans/details on how the old coal mines operated with respect to loading railroad hopper cars? This would be for a logging and mining layout my son and I are starting to build.

Thanks in advance.

babydot94513

Member in training
Sep 1, 2002
Brentwood, Ca
Visit site
Have you tried a university archives as a source for rail information on coal mining ops?

Being from California, we do not have any real coal mining industry but I am sure that some of the east coast states have tons of useful information that would be of benefit.

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Jun 18, 2002
St. Paul, MN
Visit site
Welcome aboard Terry! I don't know if you saw the thread titled "Pictures of modern coal mine" located on the second page of threads in the "Photography, Scenery, Books..." area. A couple of folks posted pictures of mines and a link to a coal mining history site.
Best of luck with the project!
Ralph

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi Terry and welcome to the gauge, here's a photo of a coalmine.
Shamus
wink.gif

Attachments

• coalmine.gif
    coalmine.gif
    49.8 KB · Views: 214

Wyomingite

Mar 16, 2002
Wyoming USA
Visit site
Hi Terry,

If you brouse thru the on line hobby shops you will find several very nice looking coal mines including the one Shamus shows. They will surely give you a good idea on how to scratch build one. As far as a modern coal mine the Walthers New River Mine is about as good as it gets as I worked in a modern coal mine for twenty years. As far as the equipment they operate go to a search and type in Coal mining in Gillette Wyoming as theres plenty of pictures there. Have fun Ron :)

Lighthorseman

Jul 24, 2002
Out in the sticks
Visit site