Coal Merchants....

Troy

Ive almost completed my "Ratio" Coal Merchants kit but havent attached the
rear drainpipes or weathered the concrete steps at the back yet. I have never used decals before and I ruined one of the two. I got
them onto the building ok but I decided to seal them in Testors Dullcote and the Dullcote caused the decal to bubble and dissolve. Luckily I didn't apply as much to the other side and it didnt dissolve but now the edges of the decal stand out more than ever and its all yellow and blistered. Arrgh! You can see it in the photo below...
I wonder if "Ratio & Wills" sell just the decals for their kits so I can have another go at it?
Anyway, here is a couple of pics....

Cheers,

Troy.

Attachments

• merchant1.jpg
    merchant1.jpg
    48.2 KB · Views: 179

davidstrains

Nice work. The photos of your work look fine. I like that little shed. I may need to find one of those for my engine yard.:) :)

Pooh Bah
Troy: what sort of Dullcote were you using, spray or brush? (I'm not sure if it makes a difference.) You now have a chance to try weathering on the end. I know their decals may react stangely to things like Solvaset. They also produce odd things like Pressfix (tm) and Methfix (tm) transfers.
David: Check the
BRMNA website (BritishRailway Modelers in North America for dealers over here who handle Ratio/Wills. I know the ones in Ontario, but there are some all over the U.S. as well,

CNR

I would try weathering on the ends of the building, to see if you can blend the decal in. Do keep in mind that it is a coal dealer, and as such, there would be a lot of coal dust floating about; the walls would likely be well streaked with it. In addition, the roof of the structure appears to be corrugated steel, and therefore, there would likely be some rust streaking from this as well.

Agatheron