cnw1961 challenge #1

Discussion in 'Competitions & Challenges' started by cnw1961, Jul 1, 2006.

1. cnw1961

cnw1961 Member

Here is my entry. I want to build a wood boxcar like the accurail car in the pic. I want to use styrene, stripwood and some Tichy Train detail parts. I already scratchbuilt some structures and was satisfied with the results, but this is my first attempt to build a freight car – it might end as a monumental failure. In this first pic you can see how I started to build the styrene body. Next step will be to apply stripwood.

Boxcar1.jpg
  2. eightyeightfan1

eightyeightfan1 Now I'm AMP'd

Off to a great start...Can't wait to see the finished project.
  3. TruckLover

TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

Already better than I could do.

Good job Kurt :thumb: :thumb:
  4. Herc Driver

Herc Driver Active Member

Wow...I can't even glue stuff straight. Keep up with the pictures of your progress and tips how you're working things out along the way.
  5. cnw1961

cnw1961 Member

Thanks for your encouragement, but I am afraid, it’s the finish that counts, not the start., OK here are some more pics of my progress.
    To build the body of the car I use .040 styrene. For finer detail I sue .020 or .012 styrene.
    Before I started, I thought I should apply the stripwood right at the beginning, but now I see there are some other tings to be done first. First step: work on the ends of the body to prepare for Kadee coupler boxes.

Boxcar2.jpg

Boxcar3.jpg
  6. TruckLover

TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

Lookin Good :thumb:
  7. cnw1961

cnw1961 Member

To see if the coupler boxes are at the right height, I need to build the underframe and install the trucks. The underframe is made of strips of .040 styrene. For the thicker parts I glued the styrene in some layers and filed and sanded it until it had the right shape.

Boxcar5.jpg

Boxcar6.jpg
  8. cnw1961

cnw1961 Member