CNJ Bronx Terminal

Tim_Warris

Hi All,

Since this is my first post here an introduction might be in order. My name is Tim Warris, and I am an HO modeler and the (former) builder of the Port Kelsey Ry. I kept a blog documenting the progress of the layout, you can check it out at the link below if you are interested...

Port Kelsey Railway blog

Since the Port Kelsey is no more, I have recently started a new project modeling the CNJ Bronx Terminal and thought I would post a few images of the progress here.

The CNJ terminal was a very compact rail yard, car float and freight house all crammed into a little over an acre of space. The only connection with the rest of the world was via car floats. It was located in the Bronx, and there was only one railroad that had a connection here, the NYC, all others had to move freight by water, and that made for some very interesting operations. The CNJ Bronx Terminal was one of 4 along the Harlem river, and the most complex.

Being a big fan of unique trackwork (I also own and operate Fast Tracks) I have long wanted to build an HO model of this terminal. Finally, I have started on it. I have a bit more detail about this on the Bronx Terminal blog.

Here is the trackplan of the yard and the unique round freight house. This has been plotted out full size, and is an exact HO scale replica, no compression.

model-small.jpg

Hard to believe there was a prototype for this place, but there was. As can be seen there are some very sharp radii here, 90' full size, 12.5" in HO.

I have divided the project up into several sections, and am in the process of building the trackwork for each section. Here is an image of the first (and most complex) section of trackwork...

Bronx3.jpg

Bronx6.jpg

There are more images and video of the tracks performance on the Bronx Terminal blog.

I have just completed the 5th section of trackwork, which is the quadruple diamond in the centre of the yard.

brp5-2small.jpg