Class B Climax In N scale?

Delamaize

Oct 14, 2004
Lacey, Wa.
Yes, it came to me in a dream. (how corny is that :D ) so I sifted though my "box-o-cr*p" and started woring on it. a old minitrix 0-6-0, a old bachmann 4-4-0, a life like SW1200, a old flat car, some random gears and shafts, and alot fo CA and cussing later, I have made my first prototype. I think I am going to try to make a better one out of brass once I get this one refined. attached is a drawling of the basic "drive train". and, yes the side rods do function. now, it is really big, but I hope to be able to make it alot smaller version with brass at a later time. sorry bout the picture quality, I am no artist. I wil try to get photos asap.

Attachments

• climax.jpg
    climax.jpg
    25.7 KB · Views: 219

Delamaize

Oct 14, 2004
Lacey, Wa.
Ok, the prototype worked. not worth taking pictures of though, the main driveshaft to the front truck was slightly bent and messes up the gearing for the front truck. so now that i know it works, I am going to go on to the next step, brass. what I need is some specs and dimentions for a 20-40 ton class B climax. any help will be apprecated.
thanks,

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com

Delamaize

Oct 14, 2004
Lacey, Wa.
Class B 30 TON climax in N scale?

I am thinking this is going to be the easyest class B climax to fit my drtvetrain into. Question, It this works, and I get a few good ones working (in brass of corse) would people be intrested in buying them you think?
thanks
photo24.jpg

Delamaize said:
I am thinking this is going to be the easyest class B climax to fit my drtvetrain into. Question, It this works, and I get a few good ones working (in brass of corse) would people be intrested in buying them you think?
thanks
I'm very interested in N Scale logging locos. I'm building a Class A Climax now, based on Tyson's excellent project posted here some time ago. Your concept looks promising. Hope to see photos & operating reports.

Wayne

shaygetz