Civil War question!

This ain't about trains but are any of you a Civil War re-enactor? I only ask cause no one in the hobby really cares about the new guys in the hobby and so far I've been treated unfairly by just about all of them (I'm new to it). I'm glad I got a train hobby I can get away too!

shamus

Registered Member
Hey PennRailroads, your among friends here my lad, I can call you my lad because I am 65, and you were born late 70's :D:D

Shamus

Vic

Civil War

Hey Penn, I'm not a re-enactor but here is a site that you are gonna really like:)
www.portcolumbus.org

This is the National Civil War Naval Museum which is located about 2 miles from my house. This brand new facility just opened a few months ago. Our city spent millions on it and it is really a showplace. Won't spoil any more of the fun....go see the site...but many of the Confederate Iron Clads were built just down the road from me.

PS: Like Shamus said....you are among friends here...you won't get any "flack" from us.:) :D

Hey Pennrailroads; Have you been to the National Civil War Museum in Harrisburg yet? I only ask because we're both from the same state and I, as well, am a Civil War buff. Though I'm almost ashamed to say that I haven't been there yet, even though it's only about 7 or 8 miles from my house.:eek: .!!.

Matt--Hershey, Pa.

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
My wife worked with a guy who participates in re-enactment with a St. Paul group. Apparently they were pretty welcoming of new folks. Maybe it depends on the group? We visited friends in Virginia over the 4th of July weekend and saw the Antietam battle site. Amazing for such a beautiful place to have been the site of such a tragic event. Do you have any interest in blending your hobbies and creating a Civil War era layout?
Ralph

Vic

Hey Penn, I just thought of something after reading Ralph's post.

If you want to get some inspiration for a Civil War railroad there's a couple of movies you can rent.....