Capacitor discharger for switches?

engineshop

Apr 29, 2003
San Rafael, CA USA
www.engineshop.org
I checked out this web site
http://home.cogeco.ca/~rpaisley4/CircuitIndex.html

that has a diagram for a capacitor discharge unit for switch machine that take 16V and changes it to 35V to get better results for two-coil switch machines like Peco.
I was wondering why not get a 35V Radio Shak transformer for the switch machines.
I am not an electrician and maybe I am missing something important.
Thanks
Roland

ezdays

Out AZ way
Feb 3, 2003
Arizona
bigbluetrains.com
I'd have to think long and hard before I'd do this. The point seems to be that the capacitor will charge up to the peak voltage of the AC signal and when you push the button, this higher voltage is placed across the coil until the capacitor discharges. Now unless the coil is designed for this higher voltage, even for a short duration pulse, it's going to take a toll on it and probably burn it out a lot quicker than you'd want.

Now this is just my opinion, but I know the coils I've played with can't take a lot of sustained voltage without winding up with an open coil and a puff of smoke.:eek: You could use a higher voltage transformer, but that will give you the higher voltage (and even higher peak voltage) for as long as you have you finger on the button. This at least will only give you a short spike at peak voltage, then decay rather quickly. Risky at best, again, not from experience, but only in my opinion:wave::wave:

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site