Can anyone re-post the link about Rhino tutorial?

Discussion in 'Software' started by snorlaxhk, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. snorlaxhk

    snorlaxhk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read a tutorial passage about using rhino to construct the card-model of a soviet aircraft (Su-22? can't remember clearly) here....using Rhino

    It is really a wonderful, complete work on how it works....

    But after I lost the bookmark, i lost the link to that passage also, can anyone send the link to me once more?
  2. tausugAir

    tausugAir Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Snorlaxhk ... that would be a Rhino tutorial using Sukhoi Su-7 as the basis. It was prepared by Wunwinglow and once resides in the tutorial page of the group. That page is no longer there and so that GEM of a tutorial went it... Maybe a word to this effect to the author is worthwhile.....Regardsx
  3. wunwinglow

    wunwinglow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh dear! OK, I think I have all the files, the pics were uploaded to my own website so if I have the original text.....

    I'll go look right now.

    Yes, I have the text file, but I will have to 'html-ise' it to post it seperately.

    I'll do this now and get the link back here for you.

    Tim P
  4. wunwinglow

    wunwinglow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. tausugAir

    tausugAir Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    On behalf of Rhino dummies and newbies, etc... MANY, MANY THANKS for putting the tutorial back on line and that QUICK, too! I've been there and it's nowhere near rough. I think it's much better (it copies and saves well) than the original posting...Wunwinglow, I believed the CLINCHING FACET to the "tutorial GEM" is the finishing touch! For this thank you (again)...

    Muhammad
  6. wunwinglow

    wunwinglow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1
    You are welcome! (Hey, we haven't got a 'blushing' smilie icon!)

    Tim P
  7. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    hii

    at lest i found some time to tray this tutrial but i have some problem (hope its only start problems)

    i not found the email of the g8 man thet make this tutrial so i pablish it here to found some help

    he say in the tutrial....
    "For some reason, Rhino is not set up to see .gif files, so save your images as .tiff or .png images."

    its strang but rhino open me only a JPG background
    whan i tray open the TIFF file its nothing hepen

    is thet ok?

    and i dont know what to do in the rhino stap after open the background file

    is ther a stap thet say somthing about center the pic...

    "Using the other tools in the Background Bitmap toolbox allow you to shift the location of the image, and then scale it to match the model size required. Make sure the aircraft datum line (a long dash-dot-long dash line along the centre of the fuselage)"

    som one can please help me with my stupied stuf :)
  8. wunwinglow

    wunwinglow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Yaniv,

    I don't know why your Rhino will not use a tif file, it should do! Try saving your background image in a different format. Rhino can use bmp, tga, jpg, jpeg, tif, tiff or pcx files for backgrounds. Mayby the file you are trying is very big?

    Here are the instructions from the Help Command List, Rhino v3.4.

    Place a background image in this viewport.

    View menu: Background Bitmap*> Place
    Viewport Layout or Background Bitmap toolbar: Place Background Bitmap
    Command line: BackgroundBitmap Place

    To place a background bitmap

    1 At the Choose background bitmap option (*Align GrayScale=Yes Move Place Remove Scale Visible=Yes*) prompt, choose Place.
    2 In the Open Bitmap dialog box, select a bitmap file.
    3 Click Open.
    4 At the First corner prompt, click to place the first corner of the bitmap.
    5 At the Second corner or length prompt, click to place the diagonal corner of the bitmap.

    - or –
    Type in the length of the bitmap in Rhino units.

    Bitmap background in viewport.

    To edit a background bitmap

    } At the Choose background bitmap option (*Align GrayScale=Yes Move Place Remove Scale Visible=Yes*) prompt, choose an option.

    Note

    Bitmaps are visible only in a view where you are looking directly at the construction plane and the construction plane axes are aligned to the view. In other cases you see a rectangle with crossing lines.
    Background bitmaps are always aligned with the x-axis of the construction plane. If you want your bitmap rotated with respect to the construction plan, you must open it in a bitmap editing program and rotate it there, or you can create a rotated construction plane and place the bitmap on it.

    You can place only one image in a viewport at a time. Placing a second deletes the first.
    Rhino stores the bitmap image in the Rhino document file.
    By default the Top, Front, and Right views are suitable for placing background bitmaps.
    Redraws will slow down when a background bitmap is being displayed
    Background bitmaps are a construction aid, not a part of the scene that will be rendered. To place a backdrop behind your model, see Place a bitmap backdrop.

    Hope this helps,

    Tim P
  9. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok wunwinglow
    thenks alot

    i wll chck it at the moment i willcome home (i am at work now :( )

    but i found anther thing thet i dont know how to do in tihno

    ho can i know thet the top,fron,right becground pitmap are in the some place scal and size ?

    ther is some way to locat all of them by theping the scal info or x and y info?
  10. wunwinglow

    wunwinglow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yaniv, you can change the position and size of the bitmaps exactly how you want them. If you are modelling to a particular size, then you can resize the bitmaps to match your model space. When you bring in the bitmap for the first time, you click to place one corner, then drag a box to whatever size you want and then click again, the bitmap is placed that size. You can then move it, click on one point on the bitmap and move the bitmap to another place by refering that point, you can scale the bitmap again by clicking on any point to centre the scaling operation, another click to mark the point you wish to scale, and a third click to mark where you want that point to be.

    You can select all these points by snapping as you you would with any drawing. So, to scale a side view of an aircraft:-

    1: draw a line from 0,0,0 to 500,0,0 . Your model will be 500mm long.

    2: Place bitmap of your aircraft side view in the RIGHT view.

    3: Align the bitmap by clicking on it at the tip of the nose, and then snap this point to the 0,0,0 point. The bitmap will move.

    4: Scale the bitmap, click on the 0,0,0 point, then the tip of the tail on the bitmap, then snap to the end of your 500mm line. The bitmap will scale itself so that the nose will still be at 0,0,0 ,and the tail will be at 500,0,0 .

    Done! Repeat for the other views.

    Hope this helps!

    Tim P
  11. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  12. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  13. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  14. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  15. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  16. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  17. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  18. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  19. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)
  20. yaniv

    yaniv Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    any new updates to this totrial ?

    i just found it again and print it all :)