Can anyone identify this loco and help me get it running?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by who_dat73, Feb 3, 2005.

  1. who_dat73

    who_dat73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got this loco in a ebay lot was hoping to use it as a switcher on my layout but it isnt working and being new to this I am not sure how to go about fixing it it is HO gauge it was made in Yugoslavia and can see atest z-75351 on the bottem any help with getting it running would be great Thanks to you all for the help you give us!!
    Mike

    Attached Files:

  2. SAL Comet

    SAL Comet Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look under the engine to see if there are any hidden screws to use to get it to come apart. It may be like an old Athearn sw7 where the "air tanks" on either side of the tank will spread a little allowing the chassis to slip out of the body. Once you have a chassis to post a pick of, we can probably find someone here who can help.
  4. Ray Marinaccio

    Ray Marinaccio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi mike,
    That would be an AHM SW-1.
    They were made in the mid 1970s.
    Though not the highest quality loco it can be made into a decent running loco by replacing the motor and adding additional electrical wipers to the other 4 wheels,
    I would start by removing the shell and inspect the wiring and see if the motor will run.
  5. Ray Marinaccio

    Ray Marinaccio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh BTW, to get the shell off, There are 2 tabs, one on each side of the cab. Insert a small screwdriver in the slots and pry the cab sides out and up.
  6. who_dat73

    who_dat73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    where do we go from this point

    ok got the shell off here are the guts what do we suggest now? I am ok with mech things but dont want to do more damage then good

    Attached Files:

  7. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use a pair of small jumper leads to connect power directly from the track to the two motor leads and see if the motor runs. If the motor doesn't run, that chassis looks like an Athearn motor could be mounted easily.
  8. CalFlash

    CalFlash Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know about using an Athearn motor - they're pretty big end to end but a flat sided can should work (and will be better than the original).
  9. who_dat73

    who_dat73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good news yall after sitting here till ! in the morning studing it I have it up and running like a top looks like the last owner used oil on it and was coated with gunk in the pickups Thanks to all who had input
  10. CalFlash

    CalFlash Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just goes to show you when it comes to oil just because a little is good, that doesn't mean a lot is better! :oops:
  11. XavierJ123

    XavierJ123 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Talking about oil, I saw a kit somewhere for sale that offered oil, grease, and I can't remember what the third item was. Anyway, does anyone own one of these "maintenace" kits and does it have instructions as to how much oil and grease to use and where to apply? I am totally ignorant when it somes to model train maintenace