can anyone help...wilhelmshaven ships

ynot

hi ...i am new to card modelling and i got a couple of wilhelmshaven ships off ebay(the jaguar and t1)both 1-250.only problem is german instructions.:rolleyes:the paper seems thin for a card model have the parts got to be pasted onto stronger card? thanks tony

dansls1

If you contact Wilhelmshaven they will provide English instructions, if they exist.
As far as the card - I've build a few Wilhelmshaven models, including a couple ships, and have never had to glue anything to thicker card. Is it thicker than standard paper at least?

C

cgutzmer

I scooted this over to the ships section :)

I cant help too much as I have given up on every ship (except the cleopatra one that holds the oblelisk)

I would imagine the formers weold need to be mounted to heavier cardstock for sure. The best way to tell is to look for slots on pieces that they look like they will slot together with.... that will be the thickness you want. Go barely thinner than that. barely....

After you determine that... usually everything that needs to be glued to thicker stock will have the same symbol or number color next to it. Then you know what else needs to be mounted that way.

Hope it helps....
Chris

barry

cardstock

Standard sizes

ship frames and decks 1 mm cardstock (if you do not have 1 mm laminate what you have got to the right thickness.)

It is probably coded with"*" on the 160gsm bits

** double up

*** treble up

hope this helps

barry

Jim Krauzlis

Hi, Tony!

You might want to contact WHV and ask if they have English translations of the instructions for your models. Their email address is:
bestell@papermod.de

You probably should also take a look at the build thread at Kartonbau, our German sister forum. I found at least two construction threads with loads of photos which you would probably find helpful:

Kartonbau.de | abgeschlossene Bauberichte | 1. JSP Torpedoboot Jaguar/ WHV/ 1:250 (FERTIG)