Burning motor

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by green_elite_cab, Mar 18, 2006.

  1. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just bought a powered Metroliner, and its haveing problems. the 30 year old motor has makes smoke when ever you turn it on, and the commutator brush spark so much it lights up like a small fire, until you lower the power. I can't tell if its jut greas or soemthing burning off, or if the motor is dying.

    it runs fine, and isn't to loud, but its making me nervous.
  2. jim currie

    jim currie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    clean the commutator with a drop (very small drop) of Wahl oil. then try again .
    if you don't have Wahl oil try a eraser.
  3. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    well the motor isn't sparking up liek that now... i ran it real slow from 0 to 100 on my spectrum magnum power pack. if it started acting up i slowed it down. then i repeated it in the other direction. after that the motor ran fine, with normal tiny sparks. the new problem is the gears are locking up, lol.
  4. Tap

    Tap Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you want another metroliner set, just send me a pm, 2 passenger cars, one powered unit and one dummy.
  5. jim currie

    jim currie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    not being familiar with it what make is it ?
  6. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its a 30 year old Bachmann metroliner set, loose. sad thing is i just got it running, and then i accidentily broke one of the plasticaxles on the wheelset.
  7. Tap

    Tap Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    you want? [​IMG]

    the two metroliners are the first and last ones
  8. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    those aren't the metroliners i have. mine are the Amtrak Metroliners used on the Northeast Corridor.
  9. Tap

    Tap Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    they might have the same components :)
  10. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh shoot! the picture before was something that said Intercity on it!

    they do have the same components, but i'd only need one new geared axle. i got it running now.
  11. Tap

    Tap Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i made a mistake before so i changed it right away...
  12. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah... i was confused lol. I don't know if i would be able to buy them though. i went broke getting the metroliner loco i have. and my parents would probably wouldn't want me to give our adress out or anything.

    also, those seem to be later run metroliners. i have all first run ( there were 4 runs) still, the parts i need should be the same